Gion Matsuri


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto » Gion
July 15th 2008
Published: July 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post


I Headed out with the head teacher of my school to Gion, to see the massive hikiyama carts. They basically shut down that area of the city for 4 days, all the roads are closed, and you can see men and women in traditional summer robes, known as Yukata. It was really nice yet strange to be out with head teacher. I mean I usually see him at school. but part of me felt guilty and wondered 'Is it okay for me to be out drinking with my boss?' I love Japanese people. They are breaking stereotypes every day.

We walked along eating karaage (fried chicken), drinking biru, and we even went to a small restaurant and ate Hoke (a fish that comes from the Hokkaido region). I even had an impromptu Japanese lesson.... Subject-Object-Verb, not Subject-Verb-Object. Major breakthrough there. I've realised that most of the things I have been saying must sound SO strange to Japanese people, basically 'Ramen-wants to-eat me-today?' comes out instaid of 'I want to eat ramen today'....I still have a long way to go...

Just a short blog this time, I don't have too much to say. Apologies for the blurry photos, but I was trying to surreptitiosly take pictures of people wearing Yukata. I felt shy about asking people 'Can I take a picture of you because you look beautiful and very representative of traditional Japanese culture'....so yes-apologies, but you can get a general idea. It was a weeknight, and we knew we had to catch the last train back at about 11pm so it wasn't really a party atmosphere this time around.

Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

HokeHoke
Hoke

Look at the size of it! My hands aren't that big...
Blurry YukataBlurry Yukata
Blurry Yukata

I liked this pic
Man in YukataMan in Yukata
Man in Yukata

Yes, it's acommon thing for men too. Love it!


22nd July 2008

I've got a Hokke in my freezer that I bought from the Japanese fish monger here in Perth- I'm saving it for a special occasion. Don't you just love the taste? k

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb