Feel Kobe, Feel Japan - for my last time


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Kobe
May 24th 2013
Published: July 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Friday, 24th May 2013

My final day in Japan took me to the port city of Kobe. Devastated by the 1995 Great Hanshin Earthquake, it made sense to pay a visit to the Earthquake Memorial located just south-east of the city centre (Full name: The Great Hanshin-Awaji Earthquake Memorial Disaster Reduction & Human Revolution Institution). I was 16 and reading Geography in school when the earthquake struck in Japan. In those days, I even had difficulties pronouncing "Kobe" properly. As expected, I was probably the only foreign visitor this morning as it was crowded with school groups some coming from as far as Fukuoka.

In the afternoon, I paid a visit to the Mitsui Outlet Mall. The Kobe branch was better stocked with popular brand names. Since this was likely to be my final visit to Japan, I decided to make a final splurge on my purchases. Four trips filled with wonderful memories of the country, I have decided to throw in the towel for now as I look forward to new destinations for my future travel plans.

Against the backdrop of Akashi Kaikyo Bridge and Suma Beach, it was time to say goodbye to Kobe as I made my way back to Singapore the following morning.

I travelled alone during my last two trips in Japan within a span of four months. Admittedly, this must be one of my most memorable experiences. Sayonara Japan and thank you for the great travel memories.

My Travel Budget


• Jetstar Air-Tickets (SIN-KIX-TPE-SIN) : $440 (layover in Taipei during my return leg)
• 8 nights accommodation in Nagasaki, Hiroshima & Osaka: $317 (3 nights free in Hiroshima)
• 7-Day Japan Railway Pass: $384 (28,300 Yen - purchased before entering Japan)
• 2-Day Kansai Area Pass: $50 (4,000 Yen)
• Shopping Expenses: $838 (about $100 a day)



Total: $2,020

All prices quoted in SGD. 1 SGD = 79 JPY


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb