Kobe- the Perth of Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Kobe
November 21st 2007
Published: November 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour!!

Now I say this because ever since i've been here, trying to learn how to communicate with the locals, I have been experiencing something strange every so often. Now, my mind must understand that I'm trying to speak a foreign language, thats good, but it doesn't understand that I do not in fact wish to speak French. It's a really strange and annoying thing- to think in french, translate to English and then convert it to a very limited range of Japanese words. I've even almost come out with a 'Danke' or two, and I dont even know german!!

So sunday was my last day in Kyoto, and I went for a walk along the Philospher's Path (becoming very enlightened i'm sure.) Then at the end of it I couldn't work out the buses so took a much less appealing walk back through the industrial areas to the city centre.

At night went to a nearby temple where they are doing 'Autumn light up' and where they are doing 'Autumn light up'. Happened to get there when the solumn audio of monks chanting in the main temple was replaced by an american pianist dude performing 'Georgia on my mind'. Quite surreal. After this went back into town for some dinner and had really good meal of hot, fresh tofu dipped in sauce with ginger and spring onion. mmmmm.

Now I'm in Kobe- site of a massive earthquake in the 90's. The place feels very much like Perth- at least the CBD does. Yesterday visited Himeji castle nearby, which was amazing and held lots of different interesting ways to prevent invaders. Speaking of which- I havent been able to get an english newspaper for a while, but on the tv they've had stories of finger printing and photographing foreigners at the airports. Happy I didn't have to do that, last thing I wanted after my flight to do that, last thing I wanted after my flight was a photo!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb