WHAT!!! 1 month already?!!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi » Nisshin
April 23rd 2006
Published: April 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hodihooo!

We realized this week at I-House that we arrived here 1 month ago... geez... already... only 3 months left! AHHHHH!!! I don't want to leave! I'm just beginning to feel confortable and getting to know people a bit more... I don't feel that these 3 months left are gonna be enough to really benefit their presence and their passage in my life. But yeah, like one of the teacher said at the beginning of the semester, it's a chance that life put all of us on the same path for a while, and I consider myself lucky to be here.

Last sunday it was Easter day. One of the girl here, Julia, prepared eggs all day on saturday so we can do a eggs chase on the next morning. There was an egg for each person in I-House... unfortunately I found mine after two minutes... the second egg I saw was mine... snif snif... and I did one these stupidest thing like only me can do... people were throwing their egg at the top of I-House roof and try to get them the other side in the street... it was pretty simple so I got too confident and threw mine in the window... yep... we had to find a way to clean it and still we can see the traces a bit in the window... aye aye aye... oh well

Later in the day we went to play airsoft... it was awesome. I like it. It's a bit like paint ball but with plastic bullet and it hurts a lot less. We were 10 of us and went in a wood where not too much people go... still I met a woman with her dog while I was alone watching and she was kind of surprised to see a foreigner alone with a gun in the wood... haha. It was such a beautiful day out and it was great. Hope we'll go again soon.

And you'll be surprised, I got myself a cellphone!!! I still find it weird to put my hand in my pocket and to find there a cellphone... it's hard to believe that the thing I despised so much in Montreal is now something I enjoy... but yeah, it's a matter of context, here people do every communication by cellphone. I already used it a lot.

Friday was the Kabuki day, it was really cool. We had to pay only 10$ for the transportation and the show... while normally a kabuki show is 70$ minimum... it was a three story show that lasted for 4 hours... yeah... with 2 breaks but still, it was very long. The first one was not that fun so some people just took a nap... I was one of them, sorry it was too hard to stay awake. It's the kinf of show where they don't move much and they talk talk talk... and in Japanese so it can be really boring. Supposely even Japanese people can't understand very well cause it's old Japanese dialect or something like that. But the music is really cool and so is the way they talk. It sounds like if they were about to die every sentence... really funny. The second one was really beautiful, with a winter decoration and dancing. The third one was the best, there was a ton of musicians and singers at the back, it was more entertaining and I watched it without falling asleep this time... But oh well I still did something stupid; I took a picture with a flash... they said at the beginning that we were not supposed to take picture at all, but a lot of people were doing it without the flash. That's what I was doing until I shut off my camera and opened it again later without thinking that I had to turn off the flash again... geez... a woman working there looked in our direction for 5 minutes... I was so scared to being kicked out but it was ok after all.

Yesterday was a loooooong day. First we went for a guided tour of the old Nagoya and his castle. I went already during the hanami time at the castle but it was nice to see it again with historical explanations. We got to see conserved houses from a hundred years ago, what,s really rare in Nagoya due to the bombing of World War II. The most beautiful one was a big marchants house dating from 270 years... wow... it was sooo cool... the archaeologist buried in me went crazy... imagining people living here before, samourais carying swords in the streets... sweet. In the castle there's a part where they tried to recreate a ancient era ambiance. A small streets with old roofs on the houses. One room showing and old samourai armor and swords on the wall. And the lights were shading once to make an night ambiance... it was sooooooo cool. I could imagine myself like in a Kenshin scene (I know its cliche but oh well I think its cool allright). I would have like to have a sword and take a picture there.

We went back at I-House and got prepared to go out. Because some people had left during the day to do a pub golf... Julia organised it. It's a day where you get dressed like golfers and go from bar to bar and try to drink 18 drinks... briefly. So we were going to join them for the last pub, and then finish the day in a club... oh how long my body had waited for that day. Dancing is really one of my passion and I discovered that here in Japan... I missed so much dancing since the last time I went in Tokyo. We had a really good meal at the Shooters and some drinks (for some of us a lot I should say). The shooters is this kind of place where all the gaijin gather... people working there were really cool. Then went to the ID club... it was 12h30 already and we had to find something to do until 6 for the first subway, the last one at night being at 11 pm or so. The ID club seemed awesome, unfortunately it was really crowded and they were closing at 1h30... really weird... we were sooo pissed off. We danced only for 30 minutes... oh well. After we split off, some of us wanted to dance more and the others wanted to go to karaoke. While outside of ID club we were trying to find out where to go, guys in their big modified cars were passing by doing their show and one just stopped near us and put some music really loud... it was so cool, we just danced for some minutes like crazy outside and some people joined with us. It would have been nice to just go on like that but oh well they were blocking the trafic...

We finally went to a bar that I don't remember the name... I was a bit disappointed because it sounded fomr outside like hiphop only... I don't mind dancing on some hiphop for some time, but after an hour I get bored... it jsut not the way I prefer to dance... but oh well it was the only place to go so we went and I remembered something I heard someday; if you get bored it's because you decided to be bored, so I only had to decide to have fun with everybody and I did. Far from the fun I would have with techno or another kind of music but still. And when you're with nice people it helps!

We went out of the bar at 5h30... completely tired out and totally dying from hunger in my case. There was this nice ramen restaurant by the club but it was closed... Nagoya is way much smaller than what people told me... well it's really big but way less people than Tokyo. So yeah, I was expecting a lot of places, especially ramen place, to be opened 24 hours like in Tokyo but the only place we found is the Denny's. We had a good meal on really comfy seats and then got home, sleeping in the train, the sun coming out on Nagoya. It was a strange mix of early people going to work and thrashed people coming back from a long night...

Today is the Fat day... right now while I'm writing this Mario is screaming and running around because he had too much chocolate... fat day is something they invented here... they're just eating like pigs all day... there is only a few of them who are doing it... we're making a common dinner tonight. We did it a few times and it's nice and cheaper. I went to bed at 7h30 this morning and woke up at 13h30... I'm suprisingly feeling really good and I'll try to study a bit today... I realized I don't study as much as I wanted to. I'll have to kick my butt a bit.

Jya ne!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Clif cupping the mudgeClif cupping the mudge
Clif cupping the mudge

yeah I know, I'm probably not writing it right... but it means to sit, in a cool way though... it's not everybody who can do it
Angel and TequilaAngel and Tequila
Angel and Tequila

He's from Mexico, really nice guy... he was quite drunk yesterday and it was fun to see him grab the electric pole to not fall :)


24th April 2006

DEVERGONDE!!
Mel, danser sur la musique de stereo de char de chilleux n`est pas tres hot... Moi quand il me pogne des trips de danse au moins je vais au troisieme etage du Vanilla fraichement reouvert et je danse sur du trance toute la nuit... tse...
26th April 2006

va chier ptit merdeux

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb