Medan (26-27 Jun 13)


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumatra » Medan
June 28th 2013
Published: June 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Mesjid RayaMesjid RayaMesjid Raya

Aka Grand Mosque, at night.
And after saying goodbye to the orang-utans of Bukit Lawang, it was pretty much time to say goodbye to Sumatra too.

My last stop on the island was a quick overnighter back at the provincial capital of Medan, where I'd passed through on my way from Berastagi to Bukit Lawang.

Medan is Indonesia's third largest city, but there's certainly no love lost between it and the many travellers who are compelled to find their way here, en route to their intended other destinations. LP described it as possibly the top candidate for the answer to the oft-asked "worst place you've ever travelled to" question, and though that might be a bit of an exaggeration, it's certainly hard to see dirty, busy, disorganised and noisy Medan winning many hearts.

I don't think it was the worst place I've been to the past year (though it certainly doesn't rank high), but perhaps that's a function also of lower expectations, having realised that not every place can be serene and beautiful.

In any case, my transit was less than 24h, and from there I headed across the Straits of Malacca to the lazy island of Penang again in Malaysia, home of my grandmother and other relatives. After
Istana MaimoonIstana MaimoonIstana Maimoon

Built by Sultan Deli.
a brief visit there, I'll be heading back up to what I guess is now my second home of Bangkok, where I plan to spend another couple of months continuing my Thai lessons, before going on my way again.

So if you don't see me here for a while, well, you know where I am!

Stayed at Wisma Pondok Angel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Mesjid RayaMesjid Raya
Mesjid Raya

Daytime.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb