Indonesia


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Riau Archipelago » Bintan
April 26th 2010
Published: April 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

With the event of the Icelandic Volcano cocking things up for Europeans worldwide, my mum was stuck in Singapore with me. Shame. So she decided, for the weekend, it was a good bet to travel with me to Indonesia.

First stop was a beautiful little island called Bintan, a short ferry ride from Singapore. Of course she wasn’t thrilled at my plans for economy class and budget weekend, so we rocked up onto the business class seats in the most comfortably seated ferry I have ever experienced (showing Michael Jacksons ‘History tour’ DVD on the 42” widescreen no less!)

After a short coach ride (air-con no less) we arrived at the 5* Bintan Lagoon Resort to the locals playing their wooden instruments and dancing in their traditional dress. The hotel was gorgeous and I eagerly ran down to the beach to snap a few pics and jump in the warm blue water.

The pool was the most gorgeous I have ever swam in, too warm to be considered ‘refreshing’ in the 40 degree sun of the day, but wonderful nonetheless!

The weekend was largely spent 100% chilling out from beach, to sun terrace, to pool. I decided
BorobudurBorobudurBorobudur

almost painfully beautiful
to make the most ambitious plan yet between here and my flight to Bangkok from Singapore on Tuesday. I would take a ferry from Bintan to Batam, a neighbouring Indonesian island, from there I would fly to Jarkarta, wait an hour and get a plane to Jogjakarta, bus to a hostel, spend the night and get up at 4:30am for a sun rise tour of the most beautiful temples in all of South East Asia, before heading back to Singapore for my flight to Bangkok in the evening. A whirlwind and expensive stop, but totally worth it for the pictures….






When Sunday arrived, in the full swing of bad luck (give me a freaking break) I found out I had been directed to the wrong port and was 1.5 hours drive from the right one. I missed my ferry and therefore all my connecting flights, £180 down the drain.

Massively miserable, I trudged back with my head down to Singapore and settled for dinner at the HardRock Café, supposing that things could have been worse for the luck that my mum was still at the Hilton in Singapore!

Now in Bangkok; just a quick message to let you all know that I am alright. I am right in the centre of Silom Road where the red shirt camp is based, but during the day you hardly notice them and during the night, I'm down the bar streets anyway 😉

The capital is dead. The deadest capital I have experienced, flying in the face of what I have heard from so many people. It is a shame I have coincided my trip with such a terrible time for this country but it couldn’t be helped. I am here to pick up my Myanmar/Burma visa (which I successfully completed yesterday!) Will update more on my brief trip to Bangkok, Phuket/ Koh Phangan when I don’t have the hangover from hell!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Mount BromoMount Bromo
Mount Bromo

More spectacular than Iceland, but for different reasons!
cool!cool!
cool!

I love these little guys!


29th April 2010

Pics
That are some awesome pictures! I wish my Indonesia pictures were so beautiful! :P Good job!
29th April 2010

I believe jealous hardly covers it :P looks amazing Sam, can't wait to hear all about it from you in person!!

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb