All Roads Lead To Trawangan


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Lombok » Gilli Trawangan
December 1st 2006
Published: December 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I almost didn't want to post this blog. I rather selfishly wanted to hide and to protect Gilli Trawangan's beauty - to save it for a time when I'll be back there again. But unfortunately the secret is already out. Somehow along this well worn tourist trail, all roads lead to Trawangan.

The first person we recognized was the guy from the bus to Lovina. Then the Irish girl from Senggigi. After that I ran in to Andrea and Astrid, the German girls I'd met several weeks prior in Malaysia. Even Marcus was there. Weeks ago I dedicated an entire blog to our interaction in Malaysia. But the strangest of all was Ben. We first met in Cambodia 2 years ago! I saw him walk past and knew that I knew him from somewhere. He did the same thing. By the time one of us had actually approached the other we were just in this bizarre disbelief that our paths could have actually crossed once again, almost 2 years to the day. Really, what are the odds of that?

It was the talk of Rudy's Bar. Joy knows everyone. Ben and I were amazed at life's little oddities for the entire night. One of the Indonesian dive instructors stood at the bar and skulled an entire mushroom shake. Moments later he was pointing at me from across the way.
"You!!" He announced. "I know you!!"
I laughed. I'd never seen this guy before in my life.
"Yes, I know you from..." he paused, thinking. “...from Switzerland!"
"That’s funny 'cause I've never been to Switzerland before!!"
He tried to recover himself.
"Okay, no not Switzerland!" He whispered something in Ben's ear, Ben whispered back. "I met you in... New Zealand!"
I laughed again.
"Nice try buddy, perhaps try 5 minutes ago at the bar!"
He smiled and danced his mushroom dance off into the distance.

But despite all these people, Trawangan is actually not overrun by tourists. At least not in those 4 days. We had our own beach. There are no paved roads, no cars or motorbikes, no dogs, no banks or ATMs and it only takes about an hour to circle the entire perimeter on foot. It was a welcome break from Java and a perfect place to unwind and recharge before the Philippines party that awaits!



Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MaskedMasked
Masked

This was my 3rd time snorkling ever! Considering I'm terrified of water it was a huge achievement for me - it was so, so amazing, beautiful coral & fish


6th December 2006

Hi Joy, I LOVE your photos and journals. Thanks for sharing them. Gives me itchy feet though!
12th December 2006

thanks
Dear Joy wow, wish I were with you, wonderful. SO glad that you and Josh could be together, great to see the pics and thanks for keeping me up to date on you. Love!

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 25; qc: 109; dbt: 0.1361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb