Yogyakarta


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Yogyakarta
October 5th 2008
Published: October 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I strolled in the streets of Yogyakarta city. The rickshaws are everywhere, asking as they see me:"Transport ?". One approached me in different way. He said he will show me the city, one hour for 5000 rupiahs (0.30 Euro). I knew it must be some sort of a con, as for that price they do not take tourists.

Very soon I realized that we are not going to check the city sights, but he will take me around the shops, where everywhere he would get a commission should I purchase something. We checked a craftshop, where the make puppets from skin of a water buffalo. Nice works, it is carved, then painted. Used in shadow puppet shows.
I did not buy it. The he wanted to take me to batik shops, or silver shops. I said I'm no more interested, and asked him to go back, but he continued in the opposite direction, I repeated again and again that I do not want to see more, do no want to buy anything ..... and he still in his broken english "batik shop - economy" (he meant prices).

I did not get off the rickshaw when he stopped again
This is my roomThis is my roomThis is my room

so it is much better than the "toiletshower" that comes with it.
at one of the shops. I started to believe that I really don't want to buy anything, so no commissions for him. So he said it is very hot and is tired already. Back to city centre it is 4km he said. Bullshit, it could have been just 1km, as we made a circle.

I decided to walk back. After a while I see him again, laughing, with that laugh saying: "you got me, and I stupid wasted my energy for 5000 rph". He begged for some more, I gave him extra 3000 rph.

I checked some museums, then in the evening I went to see the puppet show. I did not understand a word, but it was the Ramajana, hindu gods were fighting with each other ..... i would need to google to learn more about that.

Tomorrow I go with a tour to a village below the Bromo volcano, in the next morning we will climb it etc... then to Bali.

(i moved that stupid picture of "toiletshower" to this section, it was really spoiling the pics of the beautiful temples😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Toilet/ShowerToilet/Shower
Toilet/Shower

is it a shower or a toilet ? actually, 2-in-1. This comes with the double room I have for myself in Yogyakarta. For the price 2.30 Euro I can't be fussy :) The scoop at the top of the shower serves for flushing the toilet.
YogyakartaYogyakarta
Yogyakarta

in general, everywhere in Indonesia there are hundreds of motorbikes...
PA051237PA051237
PA051237

Indonesian nation had to fight Dutch. Those SOBs wanted to have it for colony even after 1945. Indonesians gained full independence in 1949
PA051238PA051238
PA051238

...once they won, the development of the country has started (this seems like communist propaganda picture)
Nasi CampurNasi Campur
Nasi Campur

my favorite. For 15 000 rph (1.20 euro) in the restaurant I used to visit.
..
.

... and here they are, fighting !! :)
immigration cardimmigration card
immigration card

please note what is at the bottom. so no experiments :)


5th October 2008

Hi Roman, good luck! I ve checked your blog only now after few days and its amazing, this how dreams come true. Greetings from Brussels.
6th October 2008

Death Penalty
That's pretty stiff!
6th October 2008

edit
Hi, yeah cool stuff ! love Yogya Myself !! and Malioboro.. the whole rush there is to the street ! well.. just wanted to say that the Independence was in 1945 Btw... hehe !
8th October 2008

true !
thanks for correction !
8th October 2008

actually
by "full" independence i meant: "The Indonesian Declaration of Independence was officially proclaimed at 10.00 a.m. sharp on Friday, August 17, 1945. The declaration marked the start of the five year diplomatic and armed-resistance of the Indonesian National Revolution, fighting against the forces of the Netherlands until the latter officially acknowledged Indonesia's independence in 1949" http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indonesian_Declaration_of_Independence

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb