Jakarta - Yogyakarta


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta » Cengkareng
January 6th 2014
Published: January 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So had a very nice Christmas in Jakarta. Found an old Dutch style bar where I whiled away a few pleasant evenings. They had live music and the first night the band came on all leather, tattoos and bandanna's so I thought we were in for a bit of an ear bashing with some heavy metal before they launched into their first number White Christmas followed by Jingle bells and Santa Claus is coming to town!!

Spent the days, well afternoons I've been sleeping late, seeing the sights and a few museums. Jakarta is a great big sprawling mess of a place with appalling traffic and the fumes that go with it. It takes for ever to get anywhere but luckily Taxis are dirt cheap even if you do spend half the time going nowhere.

I moved on before new year to Java's second city Yogyakarta which I thought might be a bit more laid back but its as hectic as Jakarta just smaller. While here I visited the Old Sultans palace which was all very impressive. Also had a day out at the Zoo which was a laugh. They had an animal show with an otter playing basketball some parrots and best of all a bear on a bike. It was only a tricycle but still bloody impressive and for some reason made me laugh my head off. Also got to hug an orang-utan which was great except I think it might have given me fleas.

My other main pastime has been buying Indonesian Batik shirts in the most garish patterns I can find must have a dozen of them now. At between £1 and £3 a pop its almost cheaper to buy new ones than launder the old.

I'm off to the massive temple at Borobudur tomorrow and then on to Bali the day after. I realise I've been a bit slack on the update front so will try and pick up the pace from now on.

Hope you all had a great Christmas and new year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



7th January 2014
New best friend

That picture reminds me!
Mad Jack Kendall will most likely be retired from work by the time you return.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb