The King of Ubud Cremation in Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
February 7th 2009
Published: February 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

That was quite a few months ago I happened to witness the rare occassion which is the cremation of Ubud's King in Bali. I just have a chance to write a little about it now and upload a few pictures.

I enjoyed so much this gala ceremony although I didnt understand that much the meaning of each step of the ceremonies. The Ubud people have been doing lots of rituals for months for the preparation of this gala event.

This ceremony was one of the biggest cremation for decades. Sorry that I can't write much about this from the culture perspective due to my limited knowledge, i'd just like to share some pictures taken on that glorious day. Hope you enjoy it, because I did!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

See how many people carry this giant decorated bamboo?See how many people carry this giant decorated bamboo?
See how many people carry this giant decorated bamboo?

It's absolutely heavy! And when they bring and move it, it was a bit scary as if it might fell down... but's it's strong enough luckily. They are a professional of making a very good bamboo construction in Bali.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb