Don't eat the Salad!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Pemuteran
February 17th 2010
Published: February 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

2/17/2010
Did I mention the rooster that crows sporadically right outside our window? Well it makes it pretty hard to sleep so around 8 am we finally decided just to get out of bed. We were picked up at 9:30 and whisked away to the lovely Menjargen island for some snorkeling. James had a bit of the "Bali belly" but he soldiered on and though he did hurl once we had a great time snorkling and looking at stuff underwater. I saw an eel (which later I was told is dangerous) and we saw the cutest tubular bright blue star fish. I had a lovely lunch (James was not eating) then we snorkeled again off another side of the island, more fish and underwater plants. We got back to the hotel at about 2:30 and James took straight to bed. I had a swim in the pool then I booked a messge; The Royal Treatment ($26), it consisted of a message, a spice rub, foot reflexology then a flower bath and jacuzzi. It was all lovely up until the flower bath. I was expecting flowers in the jacuzzi and just laying there in a bath of petals, but no, she had me sit on this small stool and she bathed me in water and flowers with a coconut ladel. Hmmmm. Then I got to get in the luke warm jacuzzi feeling slightly demoralized. But wait there is more- when I was done with the jacuzzi she dried me off and rubbed me down and lotioned me up. Next time I will just got for the message. Later I happily at dinner while James just stared at his jaffel (grilled cheese). We went to bed early- hoping to get some sleep.

2/18/2010
That damn rooster. He kept us up again- well that and the constant running to the toilet. So, I had the dreaded bali Belly too. Since then our friend here is Australia informed us not to eat the salad since it is washed with the water. "D'oh" - how could we have avoided the ice cubes like the plague just to happily order and wolf down the salad. We pretty much laid in bed all day watching "Happy Song" on TV until our driver Putu came to collect us for the airport. We tried to muster some energy for the drive by sightseeing Putu was offering- watched the sunset on on the beach one last time then onto the airport. Good bye Bali!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb