NUSA PENIDA (island off BALI)


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Nusa Penida
March 13th 2014
Published: March 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I boarded the fast ferry at Sanur to Nusa Penida, an island off Bali, upon the suggestion of a couple I met at my homestay in Ubud. They rented a villa there and thought we could spend time together. I had wanted to go to Nusa Penida and this was my big chance. The ferry is a fast, modern boat and takes 40 minutes to make the crossing, if the sea is calm. There is no pier at either end, so you roll up your pants, put your shoes in a big container, wade in and climb on the swim platform of the boat!!!! The island is green & lush, with tropical plants and flowers, white sand beaches and only one small inn, The Ring Sameton Inn, and bungalows near Crystal Bay. The Inn, where I am staying, is across from the North Beach on the Indian Ocean, 'where native people live in harmony with nature, far enough from crowds, for peace and relaxation'. While there, I was invited to a friend's villa to watch the sunset and for dinner. The couple I had met were also invited. The staff cooked a traditional, vegetarian, Balinese dinner and we ate under the
3 boys in a boat!3 boys in a boat!3 boys in a boat!

Two containers lashed together.....they were having allot of fun!
stars. Following day I was invited, by the couple, to the villa they were renting, again the staff cooked a very delicious lunch, traditional Balinese, with fresh killed/cooked chicken. These villas are high up and overlook the Indian Ocean and Bali in the distance. The two highest volcanos on Bali, Mt Agung and Mt. Batur, were lovely to see at a distance. After lunch, my friend and I went, by motorbike, to a temple at the top of the mountain (volcano). It is located deep in the forest, with monkeys jumping from tree to tree! I must also mention that my inn is air conditioned, as that is not so common. Most just use overhead fans, which seem to work just fine.

The North Beach is across from the inn, the water is clear, warm with no one around. I did, finally, see a woman and man collecting seaweed, which gets dried on the beach and eventually is sold to the Japanese. Three young boys, paddling in a homemade boat, which appeared to be two containers lashed together, were having a wonderful time. Life is very simple here........Time stands still on this island, it is old Balinese culture, very beautiful to be a part of.

Crystal Bay is also a very beautiful bay, with warm, torquoise water and few people. I did see several children swimming and enjoyed their love of life, as you can see in the photos. Mode of transportation is motorbike, the roads are narrow, with few motorbikes. Very few foreigners come here to visit. There is very little to buy there, it took me awhile to find a sarong! There is an NGO (non-government org. and several people come to volunteer there and use the WiFi at the inn in the evenings.)

I understand foreigners are trying to get locals to sell their waterfront property to enable hotels to come to the island. There is a big push to get the locals to say 'NO'. My inn is set way off the main road and not able to be seen.

I hope to return to Nusa Penida again..........If one stays open to life, it's amazing the opportunities that are presented.

Again, to see all pics, plse scroll down!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

North BeachNorth Beach
North Beach

Where I swam daily, across from the inn
Off to templeOff to temple
Off to temple

I'm wearing helmet!
Seaweed drying on the beachSeaweed drying on the beach
Seaweed drying on the beach

will be sold to the Japanese


16th March 2014

Very nice blog, enjoyed your photography and...your island tales. It was fun to share it with you, hope we meet again.
16th March 2014

Beautiful!
I think I would love it there. Maybe I should put this on my bucket list. Sounds like you are having a fantastic time. See you soon.
16th March 2014

Envious
all my friends with whom I've shared your adventures wonder why I don't go with you

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb