The Blue


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Nusa Lembongan
March 17th 2014
Published: March 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Wake up was at 6:30AM as we all decided to go snorkeling and scuba diving We got picked up at 8AM and headed out, and guess what, I went to my first international McDonald's. YUP, I CAN'T BELIEVE IT EITHER! McDonald's here in Bali is actually a classy restaurant as this place was 2 stories tall for people to sit in and eat. At 8:30AM, the place was packed when we got to it.

But they had some items on the menu that made me curious (see pictures) CHICKEN MUFFIN and CHICKEN MCMUFFIN...I don't even.

We headed east towards Lembongan Island and had to take a 40 minute boat ride in this dingy boat to get to the other island. The water is crystal blue (see pictures) like you see in the travel brochures. These roads were off the path, dirt paths that led behind small shacks and businesses. It was a bumpy ride and definitely felt like Indiana Jones at Disney.

We get to a beach and we take another boat to about 30 minutes to huge rock (I apologize at this time as I opted not to bring my camera as the boat wasn't the best and the waves were pretty rough) We snorkeled and saw some corral reefs that spanned out for hundreds and hundreds of yards away.

On the way back, I saw how different this world is, I sat down waiting for the boat to get back to the main island and I noticed in the alleyway a group of small children playing. They had a game where they would build a tower of sandals and then knock the sandals down by using a shoe or a ball. Now, I am not about to get philosophical on a blog site, but we truly take the small things in life for granted, these kids didn't have much at all. (see video)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0hM9G_NEc9JSk5ncW82ZjIxS0k/edit?usp=sharing

(Might need to copy and paste this as this blog doesn't allow for direct link)

Later that night, we went to a 6...SIX? Star Resort called Ayana Resort & Spa where we had seafood on the cliffs and toasted to a good night.

Update you all for day 3 in about 12 hours!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Port of Lembongan Beach...Port of Lembongan Beach...
Port of Lembongan Beach...

Yea, people call it a port...I know its funny as well.


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb