Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Legian
March 1st 2011
Published: April 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Intro

I got an email late one night, from Jetstar. Cheap airfares to Bali! ; )
Both Miss C and Miss G had been pestering to go back, and deep down. I wanted to go as well. We all love Bali .It’s such a magical and mythical place, and a truly genuine cultural experience . Bali is such a diverse country It can be relaxing or Party Central , touristy or just cultural . We had to go back.
I booked tickets for March. Which I thought, will be a nice way to spend my birthday. Bintangs , satay , a silly idea and Bali . What more could I want .
Plane tickets, hotel and insurance all arranged within an hour.Thank god for the internet and credit/debit cards. To easy . But I do wonder about the small fortune in paper and ink , that I need to print out . Their has to be a better way .
We fly from Sydney via Darwin to Bali and we will spend 7 days in Bali before our return home via Darwin. I hate the Darwin stop overs , but with the cheap priced Jetstar tickets . It's worth it .
This will be my 7th trip , Miss C 4th and Miss G 2nd.

And time to learn a bit more Indonesian and to brush up on the little I know already . Saya Mau Minum Bintang Bir(I want to drink bintang beer) Dan Makan Sate (And Eat satay) .Selamat minum! (Cheers!). And I will probably drink to much and fall over Tolong tolong saya! (Please help me!) and I hope the hotel don't panggil polisi! (call the police!)

1st

Oh shit my lift is here, I’m not ready. Panic!!!
We arrived at Sydney airport and booked in sat down to feast while waiting for our flight to take off . The flight from Sydney to Darwin was great left on time and arrived 5 minutes early . On the plane was a lady from my local area who knows my boss , talk about a small world . Now it's a 2 hour wait at Darwin airport . Where they charge like a wounded bull for food and drinks . Met a nice family also from our local area heading to Vietnam it was great to chat about Vietnam and it helped kill time . Final call for jetstar to Bali , Yipeeeeee. We set out for Bali a few minutes late , but arrived on time .
Touch down Bali and made it past immigration with a song from the immigration officer which made us all giggle and towards the exit we went . We travel with backpacks, I find it a lot easier and a 40 kilo pack is ok for hand luggage and plenty big enough to carry my gear. I changed $50 on the way out of the airport.
As soon as I stepped out the airport doors I could feel the humidity and the smell of the air , hit me like a charging bull . I faced a sea of people some with signs others yelling taxi , transport and you have program .

Om Swasti Astu!

The Island of the Gods has welcomed us back.

Right turn to the taxi counter and organised a taxi . Not bad 10 minutes from the plane to the taxi counter .Within moments we are In the taxi , and off we go on a suicide mission to reach our hotel. Horns honking swerving around cars and scooters. But we made it ! A ride of a life time with sights to see and of course a few near accidents and all this for 55 000 rupiah . Money well spent . Ha .
We booked into the Melasti Beach Resort we had a suite room ground floor very close to the pool . It wasn't long before we hit the streets and ended up at the bounty night club , happy hour 2 drinks for the price of 1 . Had me walking around like a true drunk with 2 bintangs in hand and a bounty head band wrapped around my arm . My girls loved it and so did I , I met a great couple from Romania and even got chatted up by a women , nice to see the old boy still has it , lol .

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb