Indonesia to Borneo


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
January 24th 2014
Published: January 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Had a poor week after moving on to Bali. I had planned to spend a few days lounging on the beach and the nights propping up a bar or two. Unfortunately that's not how things turned out. Felt a little bit rough round the edges on the way there and got steadily worse over the next few hours. By that night I had taken to my bed with the mother of all fevers. And that is pretty much where I stayed for most of the rest of the week lying in a pool of my own sweat even though I was chilled to the bone. All my joints ached like a 90 year old arthritic and my head felt like my brain was slowly dissolving and getting ready to run out of my ears. During my better moments I thought I was dying and during the worse I wished I already had. I am now back in good health with the exception of my right shoulder, elbow and wrist which seems to have been left with a permanent ache after the joint inflammation. But he ho such is life.

I have now moved on to Kuching in Malaysian Borneo (via a couple of days in Kuala Lumpur waiting for my flight) which is a really nice little town with pleasant walks down the Sarawak river. The flight in was a little bit hairy as the cloud was really low and it was pouring with rain which left the pilot jigging around all over the place trying to get us down. Mind you it wasn't half as hairy as the taxi ride to the airport. We passed the Malaysian F1 track and my driver clearly thought he had a chance of getting into one of the teams. Anyway had a really good week in Kuching there are loads of really good museums of which I think I managed to get to all of them. For anyone with an interest get a book on James Brooke the first white Raja of Sarawak a very interesting story.

Moved on again today to Penang for just a few days while I decide where I'm going to be for Chinese new year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



24th January 2014
Sarawak river by night

Bali
Great shot

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb