Bali - Kuta beach


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
August 15th 2011
Published: August 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

CJ and I were picked up at hotel and Sanur and taken to Pro-surf's school at Kuta beach.
Both the route and the traffic were highly 'interesting'. Squeezing down tiny streets, and back alleys, etc.

The surf school is big and well-appointed and at one level is quite professional, however they always seem to be in a state of near-chaos!

I joined a 'begginers 3' class of about 8 people, and after a very informative theory talk my owner Frank, and a few exercises in the pool, we paddled out into excellent clean Kuta surf.

This was a really great experience, there was one instructor per 2 students. My instructor told me which waves to go for and for the first few waves paddled behind me and gave me a push. First couple of waves were exhilarating - bigger than I would normally attempt to catch. Later I caught some on my own, and got a few greenwalls. I wasn't very tidy getting to my feet however.

After the lesson I had to wait for CJ to have his. He was in the raw beginners class - and wasn't very happy about it, kept complaining he
KiteKiteKite

There are large kites flying all around Sanur 24 hours a day.
should be in one of the advanced classes, as he is an expert kite surfer :-) However I think he realised later there is a lot to learn in surfing.


It was about 3 when CJ finished and we got a lift back to Sanur. Traffic was bloody terrible, it is a real bad point about Bali!
On the other side of the ledger, the people are very friendly and love a joke, and the weather is great. Not as hot as Thailand. Perfect weather for water sports.
I could probably survive here without aircon. Couldn't do that in Phuket.

In evening we went to a good Argentinian restaurant, which had a good salsa band, and dancing lessons. Although the teacher was damn attractive I didn't take up the offer for a lesson.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Surf lessonSurf lesson
Surf lesson

Beginners learning the ropes at Pro-surf school


Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0975s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb