Beautiful Moments at Sidemen Village


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Gunung Agung
January 11th 2008
Published: January 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sidemen HillsSidemen HillsSidemen Hills

With lots of pretty small houses in the rice field
Sometimes, beautiful moments may come unexpected. This Friday, I was on an office trip to Sidemen Village at Karangasem Bali. It is quite a remote area which takes 1 hour drive from Denpasar. At first, I didn’t have any thoughts in my mind. Just prepare myself in a very long journey to a remote area which took 2, 5 hours drive, as said by my Balinese colleagues (which in fact never went to Sidemen anyway). Then miracles happen. First, I just realized that the new driver is formerly worked in a travel agent. He used to bring tourist from every part of the globe in tour exploring Bali. Made, the driver’s name, suddenly introduce me and Dina, my colleague, to a new world of Karangasem. He explained and brought us to places which I never knew or noticed before. After we settle our business, we went to a place which has a very beautiful view. Then we went to a temple with ancient cemetery which pretty unique as there wasn’t stone to identify the body’s name. We wouldn’t realize if it is a cemetery, if Made didn’t notify us.
Lunch time, Made informed us about Srombotan, it’s the name of local
Me and DinaMe and DinaMe and Dina

with Made as photographer
food which we must try. We went to a well known Srombotan seller inside Klungkung’s Traditional Market to try the food. The food felt delicious, spicy, and shocking. As it mix kinds of ingredients which I never imagine before to be eaten altogether. This food contains green veggies, nuts, spices, coconut, chili, and onions. But yet, it creates a perfect flavor. I was amazed to know that the price was only Rp 1,000 (equivalent to 11 cents). Seems like the prices are cheaper in remote areas.
Sightseeing in Bali wouldn’t be complete if we didn’t go to the beach. Made brought us to Lebih Beach, it is a black sand beach in Karangasem. Surprisingly, Made also able to take our photographs in good angles. Take a look of the picture we’ve took.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

a Hill on His Owna Hill on His Own
a Hill on His Own

A house in the Top of a Hill
Old Lady Made Canang SariOld Lady Made Canang Sari
Old Lady Made Canang Sari

A Gift for Hindu's God: Sang Hyang Widhi
Srombotan SellerSrombotan Seller
Srombotan Seller

I must queue to try the dish
Red PotteriesRed Potteries
Red Potteries

Pottery shops on Klungkung Traditional Market
Lebih BeachLebih Beach
Lebih Beach

Black sand jewel on Karangasem Bay


10th April 2011

I like sidemen
I saw Sidemen village was one of destination places in bali. where it is still has original culture..and beautiful view I hope you visit it and will see is like what I see

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb