Life on the Island


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Denpasar
February 20th 2010
Published: May 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Moyo Island!Moyo Island!Moyo Island!

Beautiful no?
Since we didn’t really do very much in Bali and Moyo Island I will put it all into one post. This will cover from Feb 20th to Feb 28th 2010.

The resort in Bali was lovely, we spent our first day on the beach. HB spent most of the time with her parents in their cabana, so I was with F. We didn’t do much at all, they all played in the water, but the currents were very strong so you couldn’t do much swimming. Mr G and F tried to go snorkelling but they kind of got washed away with the current down the beach. So they ended up having to walk back up to us. This really was the first time since Vietnam that we didn’t do anything. As the next day was going to follow the very same sort of routine I asked Mr G at the end of the day if I could have the day off, as well let’s face it, I wasn’t needed today. Plus I am meant to have 2 days off in every 14 and the next day was the end of a 2 week period in which I had only had 1 day off. Let’s just take a second to reflect on how many days off I have had. Tomorrow would be the end of 6 weeks that I have worked, I should have had 6 days off, instead I have only had 2. So I didn’t think that I was asking for too much, just what I should be entitled to, and again I wasn’t need today so if tomorrow is like today then I would just be in the way, hanging around. Which I hate doing, if I am working I like to be doing something, not standing around trying not to get in the way. Mr G thought it was a very good idea that I should have the day off, but he wanted to check with Mrs G. Gosh, you would have thought that I had asked for a blue diamond the way she reacted. I tried to explain my reasoning but she was having none of it. Her main reasoning for having me work tomorrow was so she didn’t have to do the packing for our trip to Moyo Island. Goodness if it is such an issue then I would do the packing. So no luck with the day off. The next day was spent at biggest pool I have possibly ever seen in my life. You could get lost in a pool that size. The temperature of the pool was perfect. In fact from the heat of the sun you actually ended up getting too hot in the pool. When we all started getting hot in the pool, I made the decision that it was time to get out of the pool. We headed up to the room to do the packing. To get to Moyo Island the next day we had to go by sea plane meaning we had very strict weight restrictions in place. All the packing entailed was taking out a few bags of her clothes (remember everything is sorted into zip lock bags) and putting them into a smaller bag. Hey presto I was done in about 20 mins. Not too hard. Never mind. The life of a nanny can be tough.

You may think, wow Anita you are being a bit hard on events. Well maybe I am. What you need to remember is that at the end of each working day each of you get to go home. There may not be anybody at home, but you get to leave work and do what you want. Your friends and family are around you for you to go out with and rant and rave at. I on the other hand have nobody. If I have a bad day I cant go home and forget about it, I am stuck with it, and I have to have a smile on my face (good practice for when I work with Disney Cruise Lines). I cant make phone calls home. It is far to expensive, and when I want to phone everyone I want to talk to is asleep or at work. Stupid time differences. So the only way that I can express my annoyance is through the blog. So please forgive me if it sometimes comes across negative.

Anyway onto Moyo Island. This had to be the worst place we stayed. Not because if was not nice, it was paradise, especially for the mosquitoes as they had a whale of a time feasting on me, but because my idea of holiday hell is to lie on a beach for a week with nothing to do. I don’t do beaches, well I do do beaches, I just don’t like the water. I have an irrational fear of open water. It stems from the time that I was on holiday in Naples (Florida not Italy) and my dearest Daddy (God rest his soul) thought it would be fun to take out a catamaran (spell check is amazing, you don’t want to know how I just spelt catamaran but it still managed to figure out what I was trying to type) and have a sail up and down the coast for a few hours. My Daddy was a very keen sailor, and very good at it. Before we boarded I asked the coast guide were there any sharks in the water. He said yes loads of them. Wonderful, may I just point out that I had recently watched Jaws 2 when they all going sailing on catamarans. My Dad and beloved Brother thought it would be hilarious to keep saying ‘Look Anita a shark!’ or ‘ Look a dorsal fin’ or sing the theme tune from Jaws. It scared me. I begged my Dad to take me back. Being the kind and loving father that he was, he pushed me over board and told me to swim back. Trust me when I say we weren’t close to the shore. I don’t think I have ever swam so fast in my life. To make it worse I then had to hike up the beach to get back to the hotel. My Mum swears she was on the boat, I swear she wasn’t. If she was then Mummy why didn’t you stop them? You are just as bad as they are. Are you beginning to see where I get my sense of humour from? As a result I have an irrational fear of open water. It is not just being in water that scares me, it is being on it, even if I am in a boat. My university friends could tell countless stories of concert band trips that we use to go on involving a ferry and me with a bottle of rescue remedy. You are probably all laughing especially as I am about to go and work on a cruise line, I have since gotten over my fear of being in a boat on water. That I can now do. I still hate going into the sea. It really frightens the life out
Beach in BaliBeach in BaliBeach in Bali

Lovely beach with nobody around
of me. The reason for that very long history will all become apparent later.

To get to this paradise we had to go by sea plane. That was fun, we even passed a smoking volcano! Oooooo! Exciting! It was very interesting to land on water, a bit bumpy but wow. I’ll never have the chance to do that again, except when we leave the island, but after that I wont.

Our week (which should have been 5 nights) followed the very same basic formula. We got up late, we had a late breakfast, we played on the beach, we had lunch, we had a rest, we went swimming, we got ready for dinner, we went to bed. Not very much else happened. There was some variety, but that generally didn’t include me. Remember Mrs G is still in a mood with me and wants to spend as little time with me as possible. Oh if you are wondering I did manage to get 2 days off! Woo! I didn’t really leave my tent. Oh yes, I forgot to tell you, we were staying in very large tents. The walls were made of brick and glass, but we had a tent roof. It was hotter than hot in that tent even with 2 ACs on. It also became home to a very large Gecko. He was huge, but very sweet. He hid in the toilet room.

There were some moments that stood out for me here which are:
1. Mrs G had a big go at me because I was afraid of the water. I went snorkelling , but yet she still had a go. She told me she understood that I didn’t like the water, but she could only understand that for deep water and not shallow. I was gob smacked to hear that. On the details for the job it said the person must be able to swim. Oh I can swim, I swim very well. I made it very clear to her in my interview that I had this IRRATIONAL fear of water and that if it was a problem then I wouldn’t take the job. I don’t know if she had heard this or not, but I do remember telling them the story about how I got it. It is, looking back on it, a funny story. Wow, I just said sorry and walked
Gecko friendsGecko friendsGecko friends

Doesnt look so big...
away.
2. Crab racing, that was fun. The beach was full of hermit crabs. HB and I would see how long we could hold onto them for. The answer not very long. As soon as they started to come out of their shells they looked like spiders. Ugh. It was a good game though. Did you know that little hermit crabs do a wonderful job at cleaning your nails and getting rid of those bits of skin around the nail. They loved to eat it. Watch out for this new treatment at your local spa.
3. Feeding the fish. At 11 am and 3 pm each day you could feed the tropical fish left over bread. Again HB and I had a blast sitting on the dock with our feet in the water feeding all these beautiful fish. They really were all colours of the rainbow.
4. Going snorkelling! That was a feat to get me to do that, I am glad I did it, but I wont be doing it again in a hurry. I didn’t go out too far, but still my chest felt like it was having my breath sucked out from it. That is what an irrational fear will do to you. I like to think that our irrational fears are part of our evolutionary background. Our bodies would warn us not to do something so that we survived to have children. Therefore insuring the survival of the species. That is my thought any way.

So that was our time in Bali and Moyo Island. Would I hurry back? To Bali, yes, Moyo Island. No. We were meant to go to Java, but then we would have had a ridiculous flight schedule to get us to Oz. We would have flown to Malaysia, then somewhere else and then to Oz, it would have been a killer. So it was decided that instead of Java we would stay on in Moyo Island and then fly back to Bali to get the plane to Singapore. Stay in Singapore one night and then go on to Oz from there. A much better idea.

To be continued ...



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

My bedMy bed
My bed

Very snug
A smoking volcanoA smoking volcano
A smoking volcano

Don't want to be around when she blows


25th May 2010

Wow
I haven't checked in for a little bit. I'm so sorry Mrs G was cranky with you. You're right, it would be very very hard to not have a day off when you were promised them, and worse to not have anyone to "let it all out" to. I'm glad you have your blog, and we support you every inch of the way! It is now Mid May and you're writing about February, so I hope you're in a different place, emotionally, now. You refer to working for the Disney Cruise Line. How exciting! We will all have to find out where you are and come join you!! I have some irrational fears, too. Its hard for people to understand them if they aren't afraid of the same thing. I completely understand.

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb