Adventure before Dementia INDIA 2012


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
February 29th 2012
Published: February 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Seems a long time since the 22.15 Norwich to Heathrow.

The bus was ok altough the air con was a bit all over the place the time passed with no sleep and to the Kinks all the way.

On arrival at Heathrow at 03.30 it was doss until the check in opened at 06.00 then the flght to Bahrain which was on time.

I now know why they call themslves Gulf Air as we were almost at the gulf when we got some food. A gulf speciality -

sheperds pie carrots and peas. Snakes on a plane OK peas on a plane no - I get them everywhere when I have them at home at 42000 feet i managed a few the man next to me got the rest.

4 hours in Bahrain started with a call from Mike Coles!!!!!

Left the gulf on time and landed in Delhi 40 minutes early. Filled in my arrival form and sailed through Immigration to pick up my Ruck in what seems like and was super fast it normally takes an hour or more.

No taxi for the backpacker found the metro which was not open for another half an hour - managed to latch on to a indian kid in from america who knew what the metro was all about so followed him through the self service ticket machine and got my shiny red token.

On to the train and 15 minutes later out into the darkness of Delhi - saw the walkway over the massive NDLS staion and made my way along the main bazaar road into Paharganj. My hotel should be a couple of k up the road on the right. Nothing that easy as I peer through the dark and whats more the dust. Things going good 4.20 off the plane 05.40 into the Cottage Yes Please - just when its all going to plan India knocks you down. Check in time is high noon and the half asleep man at the desk wants another night rate if I want to check in now. Just cancel I say I"ll move on - ok he says calling my very poor bluff. I say I will wait and he says join the queue i turn round to see others waiting patiently in the darkness. He lets us check in at 07.30 when the boss arrives. I am taken to room 208 given a bedsheet - a toilet roll - soap and a key. I am here. My room like the hotel I do not think has ever seen better days - the shower is cold only , but there is hot from the sink - we have that great indian invention a bucket/cup combo so all is good on the personal hygiene front. I meet up with a follow Indiamike.com poster and we share breakfast in a cafe over the road (no breakfast does not come in rate at CYP) I have an attempt at scrambled egg - chai - toast and a fresh lime soda. Feeling a bit better now. I go out for a wander round the choas of Paharganj the backpacker area of Old Delhi and its definately old. I hours of travel catch up with me and a sleep in needed. A few hours later a go for the must head and face shave a little expensive at 80 rupees but we are in the capital. After that its an early night to catch up on some more sleep for a long day in Old Delhi tomorrow

Some photos tomorrow

Advertisement



29th February 2012

Delhi arrival
Great............to read your journey went well, should I pack a lunch box for my flight with Gulf Air?

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb