Mumbai


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
January 20th 2010
Published: January 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mumbai
Wooow! If you want something different from usual tourist stuff, Mumbai is the place. I got at Mumbai international airport around 23h00 and got to my hotel by 1h30am, the street where full of people like Montreal (my hometown) on a 24th December in the downtown malls!! There were not only people in the streets of Mumbai, you can see cows, goats, dogs, camels, monkeys and cats all over place, and they’re just part of the picture.
For my first day at Mumbai, I decided to take it relax (jetlag was part of my decision process). At my great surprise I learn in the Sunday Times of Mumbai that was delivered with my Indian breakfast at my room, that it was the annual marathon of Mumbai....(a marathon under 38 degree C) Super what a great opportunity to go on Marine drive walk the beach and assist to the marathon. Marine drive is the road that follow the bay of the city, I would say it’s about 4000 meters long, according to signs posted all along the way. It was really crowded because of the sport event, but still really pleasant to walk.
Since we are Sunday, it’s cricket day in town, every green area is reserved for intense cricket games that are taken really seriously by locals. I decided to sit a little bit hiding from violent sun to watch a bit of the game, I unfortunately still not understand completely how it’s played but I promised myself that by the end of this 7 weeks trip in India I will turn myself in a real fan and impressed everybody... Will see!!!
So that is it for my first blog from Gandhi land, but don’t worry, I’m going to Ahmedabad, only 8hours from here to meet up with Daphne and Shawn my 2 travel buddy for this trip. They where suppose to meet me here but they convince me to go up there and do a safari on a camel for three days for the apparently inexpensive price of 3000 rupees. I still haven’t caught the value of the money yet, but I intend to do bit of shopping when I’ll get back in Mumbai.
So in the mean time, enjoy and talk to you guys in a bit.



Advertisement



20th January 2010

Money Exchange
Tient mon Max un site pour la conversion des monnaie www.xe.com 3000 rupees = 68$ CAN Donc pas chère ton Safari de 3 jours. C'est le fun ton blog je vais te suivre.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb