A last subcontinental hoorah


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
June 30th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Somehow in the rush of hosting bosses (visiting from America), training replacements, packing and saying goodbyes, I decided I should sneak off from my last week in Bangladesh and cross the border to India. I said hello to Max (who is working in Banaras for the summer) and goodbye to India (though undoubtedly I'll be back soon), and otherwise spent my 3 days in Calcutta trespassing into crumbling buildings, eating street food, and taking glorious naps in an old British flat on Park Street. Through a fantastic company (www.calcuttawalks.com), we took two organized walks (one through the old rich Bengali neighborhood and the other through the city's various landmarks for ethnic minorities, from Chinatown past the Zoroastrian temple to the Armenian church) and were placed in a "homestay" with an incredibly welcoming and fascinating Indian Aunty and Uncle. We also managed to somehow charm the head of the small company and convince him to hang out with us in his freetime, taking us to the best tea in the city and a French rock concert in the basement of a massive Hindu temple, among other places.

My time in Bangladesh is numbered (24 hours), but I am simply ignoring this fact and will continue to blog as if I am living contendedly in the desh. Until my next post, some photos from India (and a few left over on my film camera from Bangladesh)...


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Bathing by the templeBathing by the temple
Bathing by the temple

I'm thrilled that I captured the SouthAsian snot obsession


30th June 2009

lovely lovely photos
30th June 2009

looks and sounds amazing. french basement rock concerts, homestay hook-up and walking tours! how did you find out about these things?
27th July 2009

the secret side of calcutta
in response to your post on my blog a month ago (sorry for the delay), you should check out the group "calcutta walks" (i think the website is calcuttawalks.com, but you can google it). the guys who run the company are young and full of energy, love for their city, and tons of great suggestions. if you end up getting in touch with them, tell them Libby and Max referred you :)

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb