A Picnic in the hills of Darjeeling.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Darjeeling
March 29th 2009
Published: March 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On Sunday, we organised with Sonam, the owner of a local cafe, to go for a drive into the fresh clean air of the hills. Yes, we are in the hills but Darjeeling is pretty polluted.
We drove for about half an hour and came to what I think is a place where local Indians go for a day out. There was a lake of sorts, with one lonely duck and all in all, the place was pretty tatty, but the air was fresh and clean and the walks we went on were not steep. Not to us mountain goats anyway!
Whilst walking around the park, a man called to me from what looked like a large family group, to join them for hot tea. I thought this was a great idea and lovely of the man to ask strangers too, so readily accepted. But the other two disagreed and hurried off while I went and joined the ladies. I was given tea and the usual Indian nibbles and chatted happily to a beautiful lady, originally from Sikkim. She had come to Darjeeling to marry her husband (he is in the picture with their daughter) but said that Sikkim is warmer and much prettier.
The group had brought their own sound system and sang karaoke, after I left them, thank God, or I may have got roped i. They had also brought a huge gas bottle and burner and had everything they needed to cook up a great curry for about 25 people. No sandwiches and a piece of bun for them.
As I left to join the others the lovely lady from Sikkim gave me a large packet of potato chips as a gift. I refused but she insisted, she really wanted to give me something. So I thanked her and took them. Hey, they were sour cream and chive, how could I refuse?!?
We then sat on rugs and had our picnic and the sun even came out and I was able to peel off a layer of clothing.
A pleasant way to spend a Sunday. Only one more Sunday left, then I am off to Haridwar and warmth, ahhhhhhhh!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0858s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb