Little Update


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Mussoorie
July 13th 2009
Published: July 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,
Thanks for all the messages and comments! I don;t know how to reply to them, but I've definitely been getting them, and the support is really amazing! I've had trouble loading pictures, but I'll keep trying.
I'm still in Mussoorie, and I will leave next weekend. I've been taking Hindi classes, and though I've been busy mispronouncing every possible sound in the language, I've also had a lot of time to acclimate better with Indian culture and society, and also to enjoy the serene landscape and fresh mountain air! The town of Landour is actually a lot bigger than I thought, and when compared to the bustling tourist scene at Mussoorie, only a few minutes down the same road from Landour, is very low-key. Actually, it just is low key, with vegetable stands, a few cafes and sweet shops, and a slew of tailors. It's relaxing to stroll through, and has grown on me immensely. Mussorie is charming for its own reasons, but not that charming. It does have great food, though, including the best Tibetan food I've ever had.
Last weekend, I visited Surkanda Devi Shrine, a Hindu temple dedicated to a goddess (I think) or deity of energy. The temple sat at 10,000 feet, and was literally in the clouds. The mist would occasionally move in and surround the small shrine in white, then move out and allow an incredible view of the lush valley below. The best part was the background noise: The wind, broken only by the occasional sound of a bell ringing.
I look forward to enjoying these last two weeks in Mussoorie/Landour, before plunging back into Delhi.



Advertisement



13th July 2009

yay!
Hey Ronny! Thanks for the update! It was the perfect way to start my day at work! Surfing the internet and armchair traveling! Glad to see you have the chance to write again. Hope you can keep up with this blog, as we are all living vicariously through you! Your words create very real images for us. Take care Kid! Love you! A.K.
15th July 2009

Wonderful Adventure
Hi Ronny, Sounds like the trip is going very well so far. You'll have so many stories to share with the FAM when you return in December. We love reading your stories. It sounds absolutely amazing. What an appreciation for life you will have once you return. Stay save and be good! Love, Mark, Carla, Courtney and Danielle.

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb