Mussoorie


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Mussoorie
November 30th 2006
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I Can See The HimalayasI Can See The HimalayasI Can See The Himalayas

About 100km or more in the distance
Peace and tranquility can be found high up in the hills at the foot of the Himalayan mountains. Access is restricted this time of year to many of the higher mountain passes - closed due to snow and ice - but Mussoorie is easily accessible all year round from Dehra Dun via Rishikesh or Haridwar. Be warned however its pretty damn cold with tempatures touching freezing at night whilst I was there. I had several blankets, a duvet and two makeshift hot water bottles (made from empty mineral water containers and a very hot shower) and I was absolutely freezing.

The town sits on the hillside and harbours great views of Dehra Dun several thousand meters below. At least that's the case usually at this time of year; at other times it is apparently often shrouded in mist. Mussoorie is popular with the Indian holiday makers and is a popular retreat during the summer months when it is much cooler higher up and the local falls provide an ideal way to cool off.

At this time its very quiet so hotels are heavily discounted making it a much more reasonable option. It is good for walks and excursions to
Buffalo Minds Its Own BusinessBuffalo Minds Its Own BusinessBuffalo Minds Its Own Business

Unlike the ones occasionally charging you late at night in the tight streets of Delhi - this Buffalo enjoys the view whilst eating patchy grass.
places such as the Surkhanda Devi temple 30 kms away. At 3500m high is had good views of the Himalayas and nearer surroundings.

To be honest there isn't much else to do here for the budding adventure type such as myself and 2 or 3 days here pretty much covers everything. I stayed a few extra days because I do hate to rush things and don't like to over do the 'travelling' part of travelling. If you do decide to come here then do yourself a favour; pay a few more rupees and find somewhere warm that doesn't have too many drafts blowing force nine gails through the room. I should have twigged at the super fresh air that filled the room - great in summer but not to hot in winter. Apparently fan heaters were available for an extra 100 rupees per night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Winding Rapid RiverWinding Rapid River
Winding Rapid River

Nothing too special about it however
Kempty FallsKempty Falls
Kempty Falls

Nice and cool in the summer but pretty damn cold right about now. I've no desire to get wet.
I Too Forgot My Bath This MorningI Too Forgot My Bath This Morning
I Too Forgot My Bath This Morning

During high season this is a particularly busy tourist spot just outside Mussoorie but is the perfect place to strip down to your pants, show of your masculinity and have water fights with your brothers.
The Grip TestThe Grip Test
The Grip Test

The guy behind me is not at all impressed with my previous effort at the "Grip Test". I have the grip of "A Lady". Doh.
Dehra Dun By NightDehra Dun By Night
Dehra Dun By Night

Impressive clear views can be had from Mussoorie and were especially lovely during sunset.
Rigged I ReckonRigged I Reckon
Rigged I Reckon

My second attempt wasn't much better. The guy running it has a much better grip than me. I don't know what that says about him though.


14th February 2007

Dude
Steve you are a legend ... England is shit at the mom and you are making me jelous !! Carry on and hopefully i can escape the rut you have .. Laters Sy

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0969s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb