Dirtiest city in the world ?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
January 26th 2009
Published: January 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's hard to tell but if Varanasi is not the dirtiest city in the word, it must be good second ! It's hard to explain. The old city consists of very narrow streets (less than 2 meters wide). Sick dogs and huge cows wander aimlessly in there, pooing everywhere. The street is covered with some sticky mixture that probably contain every single desease on earth. Everybody is very careful because falling on the floor means dying instantanetly 😊

I went to see the doctor this morning since I started to be sick again yesterday and I now have a stack of medecine to take daily. Let's hope it'll be enough.

I'll be leaving for Nepal tomorrow evening (train and the bus). There was no room left so I took a first class ticket (which is still quite cheap $10 for 6 hours) so I'll see what first class means in India !



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



27th January 2009

My uncle in Korea thinks that they use cow poo in curry! Maybe that's why you're so sick?
27th January 2009

The doctor also told me to avoid spicy food for a few days. Maybe he knew about that cow poo business...
3rd February 2009

Hi Francois!
Hi Francois! I have been looking through your travel journals - incredible stuff! I am also closely watching the progress of your beard - My wife and I will be travelling to France early March - so I'll look forward to putting in to practice all the French phrases that you taught me! I can't wait to ask everyone what their favourite sport is! Keep up the great work - stay well :) Russ!
4th February 2009

Yeah !
Hi Russ, glad to hear from you ! Visiting France with your wife in March ? That's great, I'm sure you'll have a fantastic time there. You might even learn a few new french sentences as you go :p I have shaved my (impressive) beard about a month ago but who knows, it might come back ? Cheers !

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb