Amazing India!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
May 18th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Taj MahalThe Taj MahalThe Taj Mahal

The classic view of the magnificant building.
I knew the moment I arrived in Manali that I would enjoy my time here. Set in a large valley with snow-capped mountain ranges running adjacent to the town, the scenery around Manali is stunning. When compared to the 110+ temperatures of Delhi, the weather here is awesome. Ranging from low 70's in the day at high 40's at night, it's a great summer mountain climate. The several valleys and peaks around Manali are prime backpacking spots with more than 50+ different treks to choose from. Unfortunately because of the late snow this year I'll have to wait a month or more before the most desirable passes open up. I think I'll return in a little over a month and see what trips I can get myself involved in.

On my second day I did take an all day jeep safari to the nearby Rhotang Pass. It's an insanely narrow mountain road that ascends some 7,000 feet from Manali town (elevation 6000ft.) to around 13,050 ft at the top of the pass. When I made it up there I was surprised how little the altitude affected me. I suppose had I stayed their longer I would have noticed. At the
Main EntranceMain EntranceMain Entrance

Gives you an idea of how big the structure really is.
top of pass I wandered around snapping photos and even jumped on the back of a Himalayan yak. I had hot tea and breakfast with some funny local tour guides and enjoyed the stunning views from the high elevation.

I've moved to a different part of Manali, known as old Manali, a more travel friendly part of town. I've got a super cheap place with a great view and will probably spend a few days here before heading to my next destination of Mcleod Ganj. Mcleod Ganj is home to the Dali Lama, the Tibetan government-in-exile, and a large Tibetan community. I've located a volunteer program where I can help teach English and an art class and figure I'll spend at least the next month helping out in the Tibetan community. Hopefully once I know exactly what I'll be doing I add another update to this blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Different ViewDifferent View
Different View

Taken from the right/front side of the tomb.
First GlimpseFirst Glimpse
First Glimpse

Entering the main area where the Taj is located.
Hiding from the SunHiding from the Sun
Hiding from the Sun

The heat in Agra was nuts. The temp during the day hit a high of 109.
MosqueMosque
Mosque

One of two mosques located to the left and right of the Taj itself.
In the GardensIn the Gardens
In the Gardens

The landscape surrounding the Taj is vast and I took this just I began the walk toward the Taj.
Indian FriendsIndian Friends
Indian Friends

These guys were pretty funny. When they saw me taking pictures they wanted to be photographed too. Everyone took turns looking at the screen on the camera, laughed a bunch, and then took off.
Garden ViewGarden View
Garden View

Looking at the Taj through a grove of trees.
Agra FortAgra Fort
Agra Fort

The main entrance gate to the fort.
Agra ArchesAgra Arches
Agra Arches

A view inside the former location of the royal meeting hall.
White MosqueWhite Mosque
White Mosque

A mosque inside the Agra fort made entirely out of white marbel.
Outside the FortOutside the Fort
Outside the Fort

Looking out of the fort toward the Taj Mahal.
Through the ArchThrough the Arch
Through the Arch

Another view looking out of the Agra Fort.
Royal RetreatRoyal Retreat
Royal Retreat

A secluded area inside the fort that was designated only to royalty.
Exit Exit
Exit

This is how grand the builders made the exit when constructing the fort.
Akbar's MausoleumAkbar's Mausoleum
Akbar's Mausoleum

Built in the 16th century by Emperor Akbar of the Mughal Empire, it was constructed to be his final resting place after death.


Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 19; qc: 88; dbt: 0.0771s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb