A land of squatting potties


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Vellore
January 23rd 2008
Published: January 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

A typical viewA typical viewA typical view

Lots of people on motorcycles...note dad on cell phone!
Ok so...things have been continuing to go well. A lot of the students have left and that has been a bit sad, but I am sure some new ones will be coming. Some interesting things...yesterday I taught my hip class. It turns out that they don't see a lot of hip injuries or arthritis of the hip. I was thinking....hmmmm...is this because we are way more active in the US and more likely to wear out our hips? or is it because we have machines or people to do everything for us and we are no longer squatting like our ancestors did? or is it just becuase our life expectancy is higher so we are outliving our hips? The latter wouldn't explain why people (aka my mama) are having hip replacements at relatively young ages (i said relatively...don't get a big head renee). well...i got to the bottom of it. Literally, the bottom. Indian style "toilets" are actually just porcelin holes that you squat over! This means that every time they make a pee pee, they are using their full hip range of motion. So if you are worried about having hip degeneration...pop a squat whenever you get a chance and
Ha ha!Ha ha!Ha ha!

Free public urinal...a wall with a ditch! don't worry, i didn't pee here!
you may prolong going under the knife! not good news for the hip replacement surgeons but good news for you!

Yesterday I went to pick up some stuff at the tailors. Becasue I had been with someone else when i dropped them off and thought i would be returning with her, I didnt make an effort to remember where it was. All i remembered was that it was up a yelloe staircase with no sign. you would be surprised how many yellow staircases there are on Ghandi road. many many. i walked up each one until i found my tailor. i got my clothes and ended up buying some more that then needed to be dropped off. They laughed at me when i showed them the pants that i split.


I uploaded pics last night and put them on a cd and on my usb, however the computer i am on is not allowing me to use my usb and there is no cd drive. apparently they are not supposed to have working usb ports but i have found some that do. i will try again later.

i heard heath ledger died? oh my. i have
I heart Pondicherry!I heart Pondicherry!I heart Pondicherry!

So happy to be near the beach again!
to look that up now that i am near a computer. how sad.

I am still working my tushy off in the clinic. Monday night i learned some classical indian dance moves and taught some ballet! i also impressed everyone with my walking on my hands ability and my front walkovers. i was wondering why i was sore today! Yesterday i was super sleepy but went to bed early and i think i have recovered. hopefully its not malaria since my right foot and right hand are covered in bug bites! ok thats all for now i think. i will work on the picture situation in a bit. luv ya all (unless you are reading this and i dont know you, then i may not luv you but i might eventually).

--kim




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

boatboat
boat

fishing?
Ha Ha!Ha Ha!
Ha Ha!

So nice that Jesus has invited me to meals!
cutey kidscutey kids
cutey kids

They were so excited to get their photo taken!
The next big Indian modelThe next big Indian model
The next big Indian model

He just loved the camera that he pushed the smaller children away! bully!
The joy train!The joy train!
The joy train!

We are so full of joy!!
A family at the beachA family at the beach
A family at the beach

Just hanging out on a saturday night!
who knows?who knows?
who knows?

weird that i am still a cheesy loser in other countries! the Bay of Bengal is pretty!!
crashing wavescrashing waves
crashing waves

we missed getting a photo of when i got soaked!
The whole Pondy groupThe whole Pondy group
The whole Pondy group

Michael, Tom, Janan, Jihan, me, Carissa
A family waitingA family waiting
A family waiting

waiting for the waves
A family waitingA family waiting
A family waiting

great anticipation!
uh oh!uh oh!
uh oh!

crash! i just loved this family!
monkeymonkey
monkey

i also saw monkeys on a rooftop but wasn't quick enough.
elephantelephant
elephant

yay! me and an elephant outside the temple!
cute pupscute pups
cute pups

a boy and the cutest puppies!
Chai!Chai!
Chai!

a roadside chai stand! since when do i like tea? but i do!
busy Indian streetbusy Indian street
busy Indian street

fruit anyone?
CMCCMC
CMC

inside the hospital
CMCCMC
CMC

the nurses wear white sari's!
my daily commutemy daily commute
my daily commute

just outside the hospital gates!
CMCCMC
CMC

outside the hospital gates
CMCCMC
CMC

outside the hospital gates!


23rd January 2008

Interesting
That is an interesting factoid, Dr. Kim. Thank you. Maybe we should all squat over holes to pee? Anyway..love your pictures!! Glad you are not toning the cheese down for your new friends....wouldn't want you to disappoint the old ones!! XOXO Love you!!
23rd January 2008

Great pictures, it's really interesting reading about your adventures! Martin
23rd January 2008

Love the pictures!!!
Keep them coming!!! :)
24th January 2008

pee
I pee in the woods all the time at festivals!! This is totally going to be a healthy hippie tip! Thanks Dr. Kim!
15th August 2009

unbelievable photos of My city
Thanks for your fealing about my great city pondicherry. Very happy to visit your site. Thanks for your publish.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb