1st entry from India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Tiruvannamalai
February 16th 2007
Published: February 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi and Thanks for checking in.

Lela and I have been in Dubai for two days and on the 14th flew to Chennai, India. We were upgraded to business class for some reason and it is sensational. She and I were in agreement that a longer flight wouldn't have necessarily been a bad thing! So many movie options to watch on your own personal screen at the click of a button.

Lela and I are now in Tiruvannamalai now. This is a completely different world. While Dubai was rich beyond belief, with Toyota 4 by 4s everywhere, people in India are poorer that I could have imagined. There are people lying in the dirt by the side of the road. There are women walking around in beautiful saris (the traditional dress of Indian women) while there is filth everywhere. I don't know what people do with their garbage, but there seems to be no street cleaning system of any kind here. And despite the garbage and outdoor gutters that you have to walk over to get into any shop, there is such wonderful beauty everywhere. The people seem so happy and children so eager to have their picture taken. "Photo...photo.....please, please" they request.

Lela and walked around Arunanchala this morning at 6:15am. That is the mountain where the very, very famous guru, Ramana Maharshi lived in for many years. He stayed in one cave for 15 years. There are so many Sadhus here in Tiruvanamalai. Sadhus are the men (only one female sadhu I've seen) who have renounced the material, familial world to live life of "grace" : living off of the generosity of others. We met one Sadhu on our way to the caves who spoke perfect English. He invited us to sit down next to him on the trail and spoke with us for 15 minutes. He told us that he was a "tax advisor" for many years before renouncing. He said that he had 2 children and a wife that he left behind. He told us that his wife knew before she married him that he would become a Sadhu. When his children were grown and independant he decided it was time. He kindly asked us for a donation after our conversation and showed us a letter stating his intention to travel all over India and Nepal as a Sadhu.

There are some incredible people that we've met so far here. And Tiru is filled with Westerners now. .

OK...all for now. If you'd like to, leave a message for me here and I'll get it.

Lots of love,

Dave




Advertisement



16th February 2007

Welcome to a world of extremes hahaha :) Enjoy amigo, Erik
16th February 2007

Cheers
Hi Dave, Good to hear you had a good trip there!! Sounds pretty amazing and heartbreaking at the same time. Please post some pics soon. I'm enjoying your office and have decided to turf you and have now made it my own complete with prints, pics of the boys and Bella, and of course all of the shoes I own in my closet. Say hi to Lela. Renee :)
17th February 2007

Wow...it's really fun to read about what you are experiencing. Upgraded seat, for some reason hu? it's a sign of things to come...(Lela also has that effect.) keep your ears and eyes open, you are in for a treat of the senses. Give my love to lels...I miss her, being so far away. : ) I love you Dave....hugs and kisses Tarns!
17th February 2007

Checking in
Hi Dave, I'm checking in to see how the trip is... sounds interesting, fascinating, and very different than Edmonton! I'll keep checking back love, Eric
20th February 2007

From rich and snowy in grey zones
Hi Dave, I have heard about the poverty of India and seen it in photos but then I watch a Bollywood movie and think "Where are the poor people?" The Sadhu you met reminded me of the book "Sidhartha" (do you remember?). It's amazing to me that, with so many poor anyone could survive on alms only. I hope you are taking a lot of photos (and will post them for us). Love, Arlyn

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb