Monsoons n such


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Madurai
October 30th 2006
Published: October 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, here I am. Back to the lab again. Now it seems everyone in my family, Ian and my Dad included are coing out to visit me and the thought of that is very, very exciting. While my schedule is now quite set, the time here has not begun to get monotonous. Not by a long shot. I have a lot of free time, sorta, but it never seems like I have enough time during the day. The free time is usually in the morning and between meetings and class, so its usually like 45 minutes here, an hour there. Of course I use a great deal of this time to check out the latest happenings in the world of soccer.

Speaking of sports, friday was the biggest day of the year for me. Sports, important day, what happened u might ask? Did you get selected for a professional soccer team? No, it was the fantasy basketball live draft. Now I know what your thinking. probably, "what is it?" or, "Why do you care so much?" Maybe, "What a waste of time." Ive heard it all before, and I ahve to say that after much tought about it, I think it is a perfectly worthwhile obsession. I think that most obsessions, well at least ones that aren't destructive are great. For example Abby loving Manatees. its ridiuclous, but she puts so much into it. Some people loving pets, other video games, my dad robots. My point is this, being completely into something is a really positive thing. I thinkit is better to be consumed by things than merely have a passing interest in it. Simply put, i think it isw better to be consumed by life, than have a passing interest in it. So, back to the basketball draft. I had trouble sleeping the night before (the draft was friday morning) like I was once again 6 on Christmas eve. I got into the internet draft room and met (if u consider it meeting when over the internet) old freinds/fantasy basketball rivals. of course I draqfted the best team, or so Id like to think. Now that basketball is starting the rest of the year will be slightly different. In what way? Well, ill have names, stats, trades floating throughout my mind and wake up every mornign hoping that my team played well the night before.

Next subject. Monsoons. I havent written about the monsoon yet, or at least I dont think so. Thats probably because real rain hadn't come yet. On saturday biking back from the soccer field I was met with the most intense deluge of rain Ive ever experienced. As Emiliano has been known to hyperbolize, "it was raining ACTUAL cats and dogs" Seriously, one huge tomcat came flying down inf ront of me and as I swerved out of the way he reached out his paw and scratched me. Ok, jsut kidding. My lowland scot eyebrows that my mom claims helped prevent the water from getting in my ancestor's eyebrows were overwhelmed and, even on a bike with no windshield to be fogged up I couldnt see more than a few feet in front of me. Get this... in the 10 minutes I was biking through the torrents my shoes got soaked through. not wet. NO! Soaked as if I had been swimming, using them as water socks. This is without them leaving my pedals or being in standing water. That ride, though, was one of the happiest moments of my life. I love rain when it is hot soooo much. I was riding with hands not on handbars, but instead raised above my head as if to communicate with the rain god. As I rode like that I sang at the top of my voice. Total elation. but then, later I felt bad about being so happy for the rain. why? Because 1) I talked with a poor man who said the rain knocked down one of the walls of his hut and he'd have to build a new house!
2) My cell phone got destroyed. I really didnt care about the cell phone, but damn.... this man's house got destroyed. Id always npticed that people really seemed to frown alot when it rained here and I couldnt figure out why. Well, thats the reason. Their way of life is a lot closer to peril than you can imagine. Their crops and be destroyed, homes ruined, motorcycle destroyed and not have money to recoup losses. I live a life, and especially in the US where in most cases the only person who can really negatively affect my happiness is me (can say that cuz I dont have a girlfriend 😊... i dont have to worry about food, shelter, really anything.

Hope everyone is doing well and maintaining.

Oh yeah, I watched this documentary on Yogis who dont need to eat to survive and ahve other unbelievable powers and it spurred me to meditate every day. Thinking about it logically with the science we have now its basically impossible or a hoax. But Ive decided to suspend my disbelief.

Advertisement



30th October 2006

Nate, Glad that you arw doing well and enjoying India as always... Man I remember those Monsoons when I was in Vietnam... those were the day. Some people were unfortunate to have all their crops ruined as well as their shelter. My family lost all the corns and rice... :(...

Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1004s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb