Magical Pushkar: Back to Rajasthan


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pushkar
August 17th 2008
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Pushkar is very much like a smaller Jaisalmer - similar havelis and dress...the differences are that there's virtually no hassle and it has the beautiful holy Lake...People were incredibly friendly and even the turbanned men wanted to have their photgraphs taken and spruced up their 'taches in preparation!
It's very spiritual, with literally hundreds of temples and there are 52 bathing ghats around the holy lake. Ghandi's ashes were sprinkled into the waters here and chanting, bells and music follow you all day long. Meat, eggs and alcohol are forbidden....

My plan was to take off and get taxis into Ajmer on at least one night, if only to get a beer (okay, so it's not very spiritual...) but it never happened anyway...I arrived at the hotel, did an hour's yoga in the peace and calm at the top of the hotel, then managed to get too sick to get out of bed for two days. E-coli and amoebic dystentry - fab. Something picked up after I left Calcutta.

At least I started to feel better before my 4am ride out in an open-sided jeep with a half awake driver!) back over the mountains, Ajmer and the train back to Delhi.

Before I left, at dusk, I made offerings at the Lake, threw in handfulls of scented blossoms, and wished.....someone put a red dye bindi on my forehead, pressed crushed blossom into it, and I now have two small strings, one red, one yellow - tied to my bag, to remind me of this magical, inspiring place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Typical Rajasthani necklaces Typical Rajasthani necklaces
Typical Rajasthani necklaces

Had to be a bit discreet as a woman was wearing these, so pic taken from some distance away
Selling vegetablesSelling vegetables
Selling vegetables

She has scales next to the fruit
Ken Livingstone would have a fit...Ken Livingstone would have a fit...
Ken Livingstone would have a fit...

but here, the birds are fed all around the holy lake
Four on a bikeFour on a bike
Four on a bike

If you look closely, you can just see a child's arm under the woman's elbow
My hotel: Inn Seventh HeavenMy hotel: Inn Seventh Heaven
My hotel: Inn Seventh Heaven

My room - fabulous, friendly place, with calm all around


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 22; qc: 90; dbt: 0.087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb