Delhi and Deserts.


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaisalmer
March 23rd 2014
Saved: January 16th 2024
Edit Blog Post

IMG_1295IMG_1295IMG_1295

First Delhi shocker, a smooth and fast metro from the Airport. I love cities with Airport metro systems, means you don't end up getting ripped off by taxi Mafias.
Hello you lovely lovely peeps. Yo. Happy Sunday!

Just a quick update from lil ol me. Sorry it has been so long since my last post, I have been oddly busy.

Well.....Delhi. I am not going to go in to huge details about Delhi as I went in to great detail on my last post about the joys of a big Indian cities. I observed that even among the filth and poverty you could find beauty and the same applies to Delhi but admittedly you have to dig a bit deeper.

There does seem be a harder edge to Delhi, but like all these cities it really comes down to where you go. Delhi has some of the most expensive real estate in the world, which I visited, it is just mixed in filth and poverty.

So, as usual there are quite a few pictures of Delhi because it is India, and India is a pretty photogenic place.

Now then. The last couple of weeks have been spent up in a wee town called Jaisalmer working for a Camel Tour company and it must be said I am loving it. I am so lucky have found
IMG_1301IMG_1301IMG_1301

I know I have mentioned this before but booze shops in India are really dingy places. I just want to pop in for a cold ale. I don't know what it is but beer in India always seems a bit of an effort.
myself with such a wonderful bunch of chaps. I feel like I have been welcomed and accepted in their family. I was planning on spending two weeks here but I think it will be more like one month, if not longer because I have no desire to leave.

The work is fairly easy, mainly replying to E mails and cleaning. I have decided I quite enjoy cleaning is very therapeutic. The only question you really have to ask is “is that thing as clean as it could be?” and if it is not you clean it some more. It is nice to have a simple life for a while.

I have also been spending more and more time out in their native village which I am also enjoying. Very much. I travel because I want to learn and understand about other cultures and this time is giving me that opportunity. Like with everything in India, village life is all about layers and the longer I spend there the more layers you start to unpeel.

I have started to call India a country without doors and you see this most in the village, it has community in a
IMG_1304IMG_1304IMG_1304

Something has to keep those pesky pigeons at bay. What an utterly beautiful thing.
way that we aspire to in the UK. It is not an easy life, especially for the women, but they live truly communally.

I continue to grow affection for Indians, true, some can be a bit troublesome when it comes to money but this is not reserved for Westerners, Indians rip each other off, it is a cultural thing and really is not personal.

Oh, and this is nothing to do with Indians but it is hot, very very hot. And dry. Nice in the morning and evening but crazy during the day.

As per usual the pictures tell the story much better than I can. Oddly I haven’t really taken many pictures of my desert life, I will try and change that in time for my next post.

So, I am still loving this crazy and complex country and some days I am very sad that I must leave in early May. I need to look in to the possibility of a Visa run, but all the rules have changed recently so I will need to be careful to ensure I get the right information.

Sorry if this is a short post, it has
IMG_1308IMG_1308IMG_1308

So this is where Gandhi was cremated. It is a very significant site for Indians with many coming to pay respects.
taken many days to self motivation to even get this far…..

All my love.

John


Additional photos below
Photos: 73, Displayed: 24


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

IMG_1310IMG_1310
IMG_1310

Even though I watched the Gandhi film years ago I had forgotten that he was assassinated. I have downloaded the film and will watch it again soon.
IMG_1320IMG_1320
IMG_1320

The Gandhi Museum had a library. To date it was the quietest place I have been in this Country. I can't describe quite why I loved it so much but it had something with the smell of old books.
IMG_1321IMG_1321
IMG_1321

A certain Brother and Sister might recognise this book from back home.
IMG_1324IMG_1324
IMG_1324

A mock up of the room Gandhi would have lived in. Mattresses have not improved.......
IMG_1330IMG_1330
IMG_1330

There you are, wandering down a motorway.
IMG_1331IMG_1331
IMG_1331

Following your GPS phone.
IMG_1340IMG_1340
IMG_1340

You notice a random corridor.
IMG_1333IMG_1333
IMG_1333

And you find yourself in an Ashram. And this is India and why I love it. Mad little events happen.
IMG_1335IMG_1335
IMG_1335

I have no idea what was going on but they didn't mind me sitting down and watching.
IMG_1338IMG_1338
IMG_1338

This is the dude they were worshiping. Not sure who he is but he has a Twitter feed and Facebook page.
IMG_1344IMG_1344
IMG_1344

Is he dead or just having a snooze? Not always easy to know. I have been tempted to prod and check, but it is not my place.
IMG_1346IMG_1346
IMG_1346

I love dogs. But I hate dogs in these Countries. Rabies is not a good look and can really spoil a holiday.
IMG_1347IMG_1347
IMG_1347

See in the UK we would consider these buildings unfit for purpose, sink estates, pull them down. Not here, these folk are doing very well.
IMG_1351IMG_1351
IMG_1351

This is work, home and bed all wrapped up in to one package. Genius. Not much of a work life balance though.
IMG_1353IMG_1353
IMG_1353

You start to realise that India is all about layers. There is even homeless real estate. The chap under the bridge is better of then the chap on the side of the motorway. Layer after layer...
IMG_1375IMG_1375
IMG_1375

I decided to fly to Paris for a Gay Pride parade.
IMG_1378IMG_1378
IMG_1378

Not really!! It was photo exhibition right in the centre of Delhi. Who would have thunked it?


Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb