Is it coz I'm black?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
November 24th 2011
Published: November 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Where to begin! Firstly some things never change. You know when you’re little and there are things about your parents that you know, then you grow up and that’s how you think of your parents at that stage in your life? For example, I remember my dad’s smell. The special dad smell, a combination of cologne cigarettes, black coffee and masculinity, which was a smell and memory specific to a time in my life around the age of 7. My memory of mum at this stage of my life is her blow-drying her hair in her underwear. I think this will also be a memory instilled after this India trip (yes she brought her hair dryer to India), Mum in her underwear blow-drying her hair. Nothing changes.

We have had an incredible time over the past however many days. I’m pretty sure I’ve seen the most incredible man-made structures that my eyes have been lucky enough to see. We started in Delhi, then to Agra, Jaipur, Udaipur and Pushkar. It’s hard to say what has been the most enjoyable; every place has been incredible to say the least.

Walking through the gates and getting the first glimpse of the Taj Mahal was absolutely breathtaking despite sharing the occasion with so many other people. We actually managed to get in free as it was World Heritage Week and that particular day there was not entry fee (Mum couldn’t hide her excitement). This definitely added to the experience as the whole of India – rich and poor – had the opportunity to visit the Taj Mahal.

Staying in a hotel that looked over the lake in Udaipur was also a highlight. Every night we’d sit and have dinner on a different rooftop over looking the lake listening to various wedding ceremonies and the explosion of fireworks. And Pushkar was definitely a destination for hippies young and old – all the signs around the Ghats had to remind foreigners that drugs were not to be consumed there. We did however find that the afore mentioned hippies seem to have a secret spot down a path which they all seemed to come and go from but we felt if we went down the path there’s no chance we would blend in!

We are now back in Jaipur for our last night before driving back to Delhi tomorrow. Our driver is an interesting guy. He’s cut down from smoking 70 cigarettes to 30-40 a day, we think only because he has to drive distances and can’t smoke in the car. Sometimes he laughs and sometimes he doesn’t answer us at all. It’s an emotional roller coaster really!

So much has happened it’s difficult to go into detail but I’ll mention just a few before I finish. We got snotted on by an elephant, got deceived by inaccurate information about pink guava, we ate pappadams the size of our heads, had our photo taken more than we’ve taken photos (circle rickshaw guy was cycling while taking the photo so he could be in it – we tipped him coz that was amazing multi-tasking), Mum (sort of) got used to the hocking and spitting (haha who am I kidding, she totally hasn’t), we ate incredible food and we talked…and talked…and talked!

And just a side note. A guy followed us for about 30 minutes today. I was polite at first and made small talk but said that we weren't shopping we just felt like walking. After continually following us he then asked why I didn't want to talk to him. I said we were happy to talk to him we just didn't want to go to his shop. He kept asking why we wouldn't talk to him then said 'is it coz I'm black', 'is it coz you only like talking to people with white skin', 'is it coz I'm black'. He certainly got my attention then! Hah!

I think this will be my last blog post until I get back home. Ohhhh the sadness I’m feeling about India. I think India is definitely a rollercoaster of an experience. While you’re here, you’re going round, it’s crazy, it’s scary, it’s funny and then boom, it’s over and all you want to do, is do it all again.

Things I’ll miss: the people, dhal, tapioca chips, ladoo, people replying ‘I am fine’ when you ask them how they are, people trying to be discreet about taking photos of you, men weeing in the street, the music…well it’s just about everything now that I think about it! I’m glad I feel this way because it’s just a HUGE motivator to make it back again as soon as possible! I’m already think this time next year I’ll come back! If anyone’s keen, let me know (I might need an income first but thought I’d put it out there).

So ‘thanks’ India for bringing me such an overwhelmingly diverse adventure. Times have been tough and times have been amazing. And ‘thanks’ for reading my blog and sharing my experience with me. I look forward to catching up with you all, eating some vegemite, anzac biscuits and sushi (possibly all in one mouthful) with you soon.

Loads of love!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb