Adventure before Dementia India 2012


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Bharatpur
March 20th 2012
Published: March 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

08.30 Hours Monday 19 March



I take a rick to the Falcon Guesthouse and arrive to find the owners in the garden having breakfast. I also have a great breakfast, and then I am given the choice of rooms. I chose the cooler one the owner recommends.

I have a cold shower (In some places it’s hot and in some it’s not, I just get on with it.)

Anyway who asks for Hot water in a country where there is no cold water!!!!!!



I decide to go to the Fatehpur Sikri the deserted city of Akbar some 15 miles down the road.

It’s on the same road I came on this morning so I walk round to the bus stop and jump the bus for 20 Rups.

I get out at FS and walk across the road. It is wall to wall guides, touts and rick drivers, who want to take me the 2 miles down the road to the deserted city. I am trying to shake them off and not succeeding when far down the road a camel cart comes along side me. I wave a 20 rup note and I am on board. Sat behind the driver with a small kid on bags of potatoes.

As we near the entrance I jump off and take his photo and wave goodbye.

A great way to arrive at the old city.



You then take a bus to the ticket office. The deserted is impressive but it is wall to wall tourists as the bus have beaten me here. Also when you get in the mosque part it is torture from kids constantly at your side.

I had one kid who for some reason wanted my ticket whatever the scam is there. I did not speak and I did not make eye contact with him but he was at my side saying the same thing over and over in every language you can think for 19 minutes before he left me and I picked up another one.

Anyway I finish my visit and back to the road to jump the bus home.

A little later I take a rick tour round the town.



Bharatpur is an unremarkable town hot and dusty and only has the bird sanctuary and FS just down the road to save it.

Not a bad day after a bad start.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



21st March 2012
P1030099

Sack of spuds!
An Englishman abroad!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb