In a Sari and a Hardhat-The technicalities


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Punjab
January 31st 2010
Published: January 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My travel route to Patiala


After a month of preparing, getting shots, talking to doctors, organizing technicalities with the co-op department and finallly trying to shove all the things I thought I would need for three months into a couple of large bags, by the time the day finally came to leave, I had nearly forgotten that I had to do one more thing: actually go to India.

It's one thing to talk about going somewhere as foreign to me as India, and completely another to actually hop on a plane and stay awake for the 52 hours until I could finally drop dead into my bed at the end of the "day". Needless to say, I was a little worried about the living conditions, what my residence would look like and how the students would act towards us.

It took a solid 31 hours of travel time - get to the airport 3 hours ahead, then about 7 hours to Brussels, a 3 hour layover, an 8 hours flight to New Delhi, three hours to find the bus and get organized and a quick 7 hour bus ride to campus. We left officially at 6:25pm on Wednesday, skipped Thursday entirely in our mad dash over various time zones and arrived safe and sound and completely exhausted at 8:30am on Friday. Then, we all stayed up for another 12 hours to get ourselves acclimatized to Indian time (10.5 hours ahead of Ontario), called IST (Indian Standard Time) or something more commonly know here as Indian Stretchable Time. Like when we met Ajay (who was to show us around campus) at 3pm, but, as we learned, when you convert it to IST, it ended up being 7pm. I have learned my lesson from that. I won't show up for meetings on time again.

So. I am here now and fairly well settled in. I have met several girls from our hallway and a few others that I met while wandering around campus. I have a room mate, named Sadie, who I met in first term back at my residence. Our rooms are nice, and much larger than those we got in residence back in Canada. We have put up pictures and a big Canadian flag and the rest of the room is comfortably disorganized. We have spent the past two days getting ourselves oriented around campus (which is not too big and much less confusing than Waterloo) and getting adjusted to the food, the people and the Indian versions of some familiar sports and some not too familiar sports.

Our first day of school is tomorrow, so I'm sure I'll have lots to say then.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



1st February 2010

Hello all
Hope you guys enjoy reading about my adventures. It has taken quite a bit of effort to get this whole thing set up, so I hope it was worth it to you back home. Please leave me lots of comments so I know that someone is reading! Lots of love, Elise
1st February 2010

Proof
Hey Elise. So. Questions (to answer if you have time/need material for your blog). What is the weather like (because it is -6 here, and snowy)? What about the food? Which bed is yours? Have you had a chance to wear your (non-flame-retardant) coveralls? Your blog has been officially bookmarked. And now, my head is officially in three different time zones. EST, AST and IST.
1st February 2010

Glad you got the blog up and running! Hope you're having fun! How hot is it there?
1st February 2010

52 hours????
I think you beat my record by about, um, 30 hours. I'm so glad you made it safe and sound. This blog is DEFINITELY worth it, I'm so impressed you managed to put up pictures and maps and everything. I'm so curious about what your classes will be like, so let us all know! Miss you lots. I was looking through my pictures the other day and saw the one of "A Hard Day's Night." Oops. Guess that will be a welcome home present. Robin
1st February 2010

Big Sister replies
Your blogs will not remain unread! I will always be here lurking in the background, monitoring your daily activities and the progress of engineering skillz. Like Big Brother, I will always be watching. Just call me Big Sister. It is my hope that you write frequent/entertaining blogs (Cool travel blogs help me procrastinate. You (yes YOU!) can, nay, MUST be a part of that!).
2nd February 2010

great blog!
I'm looking forward to hearing about your experience in India. What a cool way to spend your co-op semester!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb