Saturday 9 June


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Pune » Koreagon Park
June 9th 2012
Published: June 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today I was going to go to Agakahn Palace where the British held Gandhi for awhile. Instead I went shopping, which I think is an equally good cultural experience! My first destination was the Koregaon Park Plaza to buy a backpack to carry my laptop in more easily. Turns out this is a VERY swanky mall and hardly anyone was in it. Tommy Hilfiger, Next, Swarovski, Accessorize, Levis and various other Western brands were selling at Western prices. Went to the Spar Hypermarket (yes, there are BIG versions here) and picked up a bag for 500 INR (the exhange rate is rougly £1:85 INR), some lychees, a mango and a papaya for another 200 (which is pretty pricey). Had a coffee then headed out to MG Road with a friend. Much more "normal" area where locals shop. Picked up a load of kurtas and leggings/harem pants and then met up with one of Meera's friends, who has already invited me to her Mum's for food when I'm next over. Grabbed a Lime Soda (sweet not salted) then came back on my own to the flat to make a fruit salad and have a shower. I'm now sat in the living room with both the balcony doors open and it is NOISY. initially I thought it must be someone in the same building watching TV, but no! There is some sort of motocross thing going on in a stadium about half a mile away and they are using the biggest loudspeaker. In the run up they were playing a load of club music and now he is talking about driver number 24.... Gargh!! Having some dinner soon and then probably heading out between 9 and 10 to see some football at a pub or bar.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb