Day 3 - Jewish Bombay


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
May 2nd 2013
Published: May 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Before I write about our first day in Bombay, I must tell you all about the Taj Palace Hotel where we are staying. I think that I mentioned that we were upgraded to a suite with butler service. What I did not say (because I did not know) is that everything is done for you. It is impossible to open a door yourself... someone appears from nowhere... and doors are opened. I decided to take a bath this afternoon after our day touring and before I knew it the butler was rubbing my back.... it is really something. In our upgraded package, we not only get a full buffet breakfast but also at 330pm we get high tea... others without this package only get low tea... At 530 we are invited to a reception with drinks and horses ovaries, and at 930 cognac and chocolates. I will not be able to take mom to any holiday inn ever again.

Now for our day. We were to meet our guide at 10am in the main lobby of the hotel. The only thing that I knew about his was that he was to be wearing jeans. We got to the lobby at 930am and it looked like a jean convention... everyone in jeans. There were tour guides all around looking for their people. Finally this young man came in.... and immediately we knew that this guy was ours.... and sure enough... he came up to us and said David... and I said Daniel... and then we hugged and said shalom. Daniel had a full day planned for us. I should tell you one thing about Bombay or Mumbai or whatever.... it is bloody hot here. Thank goodness Daniel had a car which was air conditioned and with a driver who never smiled or spoke a word resembling any language that I had ever heard. This day was planned to visit Jewish Bombay and we saw five of the seven synagogues. None of them are in any area resembling a Jewish neighborhood because Daniel noted that the few number of Jews who live here are all spread out. One of the synagogues holds a daily minyan and three have services on shabbos only. They all gave me the honor of opening the ark and holding one of the sefer torahs. It was quite moving. Security around the synagogues was very high although Daniel noted very little anti-semitism exists here is spite of a fairly large Muslim population. I had written a long posting for today... but somehow it got lost.. so I will continue this tomorrow morning. Have a good day.... it is very hot here... did I mention that???

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb