Day 2: Seoul to Mumbai


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
March 14th 2012
Published: March 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I thought I’d elaborate on the first post when I mentioned ‘God presented us with our first challenge’. The connecting flight was a breeze, we had everyone together despite how busy and bustling the airport was. WE even got to experience the underground commuter train between terminals. Incheon airport in Seoul is a beautiful, modern airport. The connecting flight was quite the walk but we had ample time to get there (approx. 3 hours). We stood in line for another security check so we could get to our next gate. After getting just near the check one of our team members approached me and said, ‘do we have to go in right now?’ I was a little confused and asked why. ‘I can’t find my passport.’ I knew this was coming eventually but it came a little earlier then expected. (*I’ll keep the name of the person anonymous, you can inquire when we get home if you want).

So there you have it, just before our connecting flight and a missing passport already. Not sure how many people out there have experienced the Korean way of doing things (Amy and I lived there for a year, so we knew a little of how to communicate) but the Korean people have a super laid-back, no sense of urgency kind of attitude. Which is great in most circumstances but in our case – we felt a certain sense of urgency. It was such a long distance between the two gates and the number of people that would have travelled that area already made going back and finding it a little daunting – but I did. The challenge to the team was to sit, in the middle of the traffic, and pray. And that is exactly what they did. As I ran off with a few security guards to find the missing passport I looked back at the humbling image of our team sitting together praying. What an amazing sight.

It was now 7:30pm (Seoul time) and our flight would leave at 8:20pm. Time had simply disappeared along with the passport. I had searched with Korean officials for two hours for the passport while the team stayed back and prayed. But as I approached the team at the security check – they were giving me a ‘thumbs-up’ as I discouragingly walked back to them with nothing but bad news.

But in light of a frantic two-hour search, moments before I arrived a Korean official brought the passport over to the team before I got back. And so, through security we went with 15 minutes to spare, had a quick snack, and we were back on schedule to Mumbai – another 9.5 hour flight.



Please pray for rest for the team as we approach Mumbai;<a name="_GoBack"></a> pray for excitement and anticipation! Nagpur, India – here we come!

Advertisement



15th March 2012

Answered prayer
Praying for your team. Have been on missions trips and know that anxious feeling when things don't run smoothly all the time. Picturing the group praying in the midst of a busy airport is wonderful. I am sure it is just the perfect first lesson God is teaching. Unity in the group as you trust God to provide and lead you in these days. Wish I were there but will join the group by praying.
15th March 2012

Connected
Prayer and passports, only the beginning. You are supported in prayer - God able to do more than you can ask or imagine.
15th March 2012

Team Arrives at School Safe and Tired!
I will try a blog entry again as requested by the team but I don't think it will be published until it is reviewed by someone on the team.... Received a text message at 1:45 am this morning from the team. Wasn't home yet. (Just kidding, Anne if you read this - I have been home since you have been away cleaning windows, doing laundry, vacuuming, ec) Thankfully my phone was on vibrate and in another room. Here is the message: "Internet not working so well at the school so wondering if you could post this on the blog. We are safe and sound at the school and will update when internet is back up. Everyone is tired but doing great!"
15th March 2012

Verse for The Week
Isaiah 41:10(NLT) Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.
17th March 2012

non-member
So glad to hear you arrived safely and are all well. Hope you have been able to catch up on some sleep. Our thoughts and prayers are with you all. It's great that we can read the blog and get some idea of what is happening day by day.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb