First day!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
January 20th 2010
Published: January 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

ScenerySceneryScenery

Places are pretty rough, lots of trash.
I wake up feeling very well, sort of excited and anxious. Having arrived in the dark you don't get the full affect of being in a completely different country with all the squiggly lines. We meet at 8:30 for a quick executive breakfast and we are off. Our driver is already here, his name is Prithvi. He speaks broken English but is a pretty cool guy. I'll have to get a picture of him and fill in some blanks. We've gotten to know him quite well.

We've been warned about the traffic and it delivers! Our cab ride is about an our to the office. Our first destination is a building called "Prism". JPMC has several floors there. Our team isn't in that building but is moving there. Our main focus is to meet with the India HR people and discuss the teams, recruitment, planning, etc. We meet several up to and including the COO of JPMC India. Quite impressive.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

DogsDogs
Dogs

Dogs freakin' everywhere.
PrithviPrithvi
Prithvi

Prithvi our driver to the left. Maria blackberrying as usual. My colleague Tray in the background
GaurdsGaurds
Gaurds

Everything has gates and guards, they check the under bodies of cars for bombs.
Deli getting my sandwichDeli getting my sandwich
Deli getting my sandwich

We have been warned against the food in Mumbai including the cafeteria food. I'm sure it is safe but even vegetables washed in tap water are suspect.
AGainAGain
AGain

I must be very impressed with the deli. Sandwich got soggy though (my fault).
Auto rikshawAuto rikshaw
Auto rikshaw

This is the craziest thing and they are everywhere! It's basically a 3 wheel motorcycle with a cover that hauls people around.
TrafficTraffic
Traffic

Traffic is insane. The pictures don't do it justice.
Front seatFront seat
Front seat

I'm in the front seat because my boss is wigging out and my colleage isn't as brave!
TwoTwo
Two

Two auto rikshaws...ah, ah, ah.
Tires in treeTires in tree
Tires in tree

Don't know, just odd.
Bikes, cars, motorcycles...Bikes, cars, motorcycles...
Bikes, cars, motorcycles...

people, animals. All trying to use the same street.


22nd January 2010

Very, VERY impressive!!
23rd January 2010

My computer is very reluctant, keeps freezing up but I think I am wearing it down and winning most of the time. I agree the traffic looks horrible, seems like some of the vehicles are touching. I can't even imagine the chaos with motion and noise added in.

Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0939s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb