The Taj


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
January 25th 2008
Published: January 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yes it really is phenomenal. Absolutely phenomenal.

I ventured to Delhi alone Tuesday night. By 6am Wednesday I was on the train to Agra. Kerman’s aunt arranged for a guide and driver to take me to the Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Itmad-Ud-Daulah's Tomb, also known as the Baby Taj Not surprisingly I took a couple of pictures for your viewing pleasure.

My final stop was Fatehpur Sikri, the political capital of India's Mughal Empire from 1571 until 1585 when it was abandoned. It’s about an hour away by car.

The story: Emperior Akbar had lots of women, but no child. He traveled to Fatehpur Sikri for a blessing from Saint Salim Chisti. Afterwards, he was blessed with a male heir to his throne.

My guide told me that to this day people go the tomb of this saint to pray for children, particularly male heirs. Umm…babies? I had to explain to the guide that I wouldn’t enter that freaking tomb if it was the last bit of shelter on this planet. Sorry Salim.

But all in all a wonderful trip. I spent a beautiful day getting lost in Delhi with Shivani. (Sadly my camera died in Fatehpur Sikri, so no Delhi pics.) Came back with some great Dilli Haat finds (a craft bazaar) and a hand full of henna.

Things I learned in Agra:
1. All these stupid emperors wasted so much time wanting a male heir just to be overthrown by him. You never hear of daughters tossing daddy in the clank to rule the roost. Boys = Bad.
2. Emperor Shah Jahan built the Taj in honor of his dead wife Mumtaz Mahal. She died during the birth of their fourteenth child. FOURTEEN! No wonder she kicked it. 14 kids = Bad.
3. Akbar the great had five thousand concubines. Being Emperor = good.




Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Outside the Taj Outside the Taj
Outside the Taj

If you look closely you can see it through the archway
SUPER TOURIST!SUPER TOURIST!
SUPER TOURIST!

Gorie Gorie!
View of Taj from Agra FortView of Taj from Agra Fort
View of Taj from Agra Fort

After Shah Jahan was locked up, he died in Agra Fort with this view of the Taj.
Agra FortAgra Fort
Agra Fort

This is where Shah Jahan was imprisoned by his son.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb