Playing the flute to erotic carvings


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Madhya Pradesh » Khajuraho
January 18th 2009
Published: January 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Khajuraho is famous for its temples. Have you heard of the kamasutra ? Will the temples here are basically a kamasutra in stone 😊 numerous carving depict daily live as well as erotic sexual positions. Most tourists walk around looking for the most explicit ones (and so did I).

By the way, I bought the original version of the kamasutra text and I did not really enjoy reading it. There is really not much to learn about sex in it. It's more a description of how men and women were courting each other 2000 years ago, making strange nail and teeth marks on each other 😊 There is a few chapters on how men should seduce women (in a very very old fashioned way) and how women should react when being courted (is that even English ?).

I bought a bamsuri (indian bamboo flute) 5 days ago in Goa and kept practicing everyday. I can now play 3 songs and it's very rewarding since when I play in the street, locals would come to me to listen and chat. Well they would do that anyway but usually it's to sell stuff whereas now it's just to listen or offer me some chai (milk tea), which is very nice from my point of view. Now, I just I need to learn more tunes 😊

Tomorrow, I'll be leaving to the sacred city of Varanassi: 5 hours of bus and 10 hours of train...

Pictures from wikipedia:

Khajuraho carvings:



My flute look a bit like that:




Advertisement



19th January 2009

Tunes
Can't wait to hear these tunes!
22nd January 2009

moi aussi je suis pressé d'entendre :)

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb