Raiders of the Dark: Indian Jonesin'


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Madhya Pradesh » Khajuraho
December 21st 2007
Published: December 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Come into me...Come into me...Come into me...

Welcoming me into the temple
The Temples
Khajuraho , the city which took me many a week to learn to pronounce even though its pronounced how it is spelt, is truly a marvel in temple architecture dating back to the....ppppppffffffff hahahahhahahahah.....the temple sculptures have boobies!!! Hahahahahah BOOBIES!!!

The erotic temples of Kharjuraho, in all due honesty, contain some of the more intricate and detailed carvings I have seen to date, and are truly wonderful. It is just unfortunate, that the content of the sculptures is so awesome, awe-inspiring, or awful (depending on your religious upbringing) so as to incite reactions such as that above. It is enough to make the prepubescent boy* squeal and squirm, the Religious Right protest, and for the sculptor to admire at some of the finest sculpting in India.

*It's just a coincidence I've mentioned prepubescent boys twice in two blogs, I swear...

It was these sights that prompted me to name the blog one of the following:
The uninspired - Indiana Jones: The Ass Crusade
The all too obvious - Indiana Jones: The Temple of Poon
or, my favourite (and chosen title) - Raiders of the Dark: Indian Jonesin'

But , blog title and my own
Khajuraho templesKhajuraho templesKhajuraho temples

The grounds were well kept, and the temples beautiful...in many a way...
immature perversion aside; your own sexual views and religious upbringing aside; please take these temples and sculptures as they are - beautiful, intricate examples of some of India's finest sculptures dating back to the...... hahahhahahah, orgies...


The Town
The town of Khajuraho is a completely different story. The lands were once lush with dense forest, undiscovered until the 1800's when a british soldier came across the temples and their erotica. But even then, they remained as they were - shrouded and protected from the world for a century to come.

Khajuraho is a far cry from its lush past, today. Essentially a shopping arcade built to cater to tourits, it is the only place in India I have seen so far with a Radisson, Taj Group hotel, Holiday Inn, Ramada, and more to come - aligned on one street. The town of approximately 12 to 15 thousand even has its own airport, with the train station to open in a month. Isolated in the middle of nowhere, the economy and government have gone to great lengths to ensure that those westerners so intrigued by the kama sutra may come pay visit to its colossal stone version, and that they may profit in turn.

The plus is that without such marketing, I probably would have never heard of the place. The minus is obvious: touts. I have yet to be to Agra, but in my Indian experience no place has come close to being as aggressive, rude, and persistent as this. For example, I was going shopping for a Khajuraho t-shirt, by the time I had visited 2 stores ALL stores knew what I was looking for and within minutes I was swarmed by representitives of each store trying to sell me their copy of the shirt at prices ranging from 125 rupees to 250! The simple act of telling a vendor, "no thank you", is enough to incite shouting, scornful protests, or a sidekick for the day constantly reminding you of what "high quality goods" await you at his store.

But to be fair, the town is not without their kind store keepers and children who, once you surpass their need for rupees and foreign coins, are rather entertaining and enjoyable and more than willing to sit down for a cup of chai and talk India, the world, and everything after.

And besides...if you ever get frustrated, angered, or annoyed with the vendors , I know a quiet little temple that has some finely carved ass for you to whittle away your aggression...


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Even the elephant is shockedEven the elephant is shocked
Even the elephant is shocked

(Left to right) Ho hum, just tending to our elephants, ho hum... HEY! WHAT THE HELL!?!?! YOU TWO!!! GET BACK TO WORK!!!
Finely sculptedFinely sculpted
Finely sculpted

Now there's a finely sculpted man
Up close and VERY personalUp close and VERY personal
Up close and VERY personal

In case you didn't notice on the previous pic...
My guideMy guide
My guide

He combed his hair for work
FangFang
Fang

Maybe I could lend my guide some of my tooth...
Honestly, women these daysHonestly, women these days
Honestly, women these days

always pulling our hair, forcing us to make sex with them. Honestly...
At the Jain EnclosureAt the Jain Enclosure
At the Jain Enclosure

More sculptures, less erotica
Beautiful horseBeautiful horse
Beautiful horse

Little does he know what pleasures await...
oh...dear...god...oh...dear...god...
oh...dear...god...

A bit unexpected, I'd say...
SSSsshhhhhhhh!!!!SSSsshhhhhhhh!!!!
SSSsshhhhhhhh!!!!

Your secret is 'safe' with me...
Puppies!Puppies!
Puppies!

I guess the dogs have been learning from the temples too
My lady friendMy lady friend
My lady friend

Peacock breakie
Patties...Patties...
Patties...

Finally, after seeing so many, a shot of some drying out cow patties.
Men's RoomMen's Room
Men's Room

Best identification of the men's room that I've ever seen.
Babu and IBabu and I
Babu and I

'Hangin' at the tree fort!
Lady's best friendLady's best friend
Lady's best friend

Hangin at the Diamond Mines of Khajuraho
Sexy beard..Sexy beard..
Sexy beard..

Come on, you knew it was coming
Orgy?Orgy?
Orgy?

Get your friends in on the action!


24th December 2007

Temples
Whenever we travelled in India, you were with us, so we did not visit these temples because you were definitely not old enough and you still are not!!!!!!!!
8th April 2008

the reality show
congrats... you have given excellent words to feelings. thats the real spirit..your wit is amazing..anyways..there is a request...you have a potential to write...and better will be this ..now onwards you give more detailed account of your travels..and my personal wish is next time come to these temples with a lady of your dreams.

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb