Two weeks gone


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kozencherry
July 28th 2005
Published: July 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well folks, I've been in India now two weeks and I have two weeks to go (actually it was two weeks yesterday, but close enough). I started woodcarving today, and it's great. I'm making a lotus flower. I find that I'm staying well after my class is over to get parts of it finnished. I'm really excited about being able to bring back some samples of my woodcarving. My ayurvedic massage yesterday was quite an experience. Modesty went out the window. The massage is given on a wooden table with no sheet or anything. On top of that, there don't seem to be many places that are off-limits for massaging. All in all, though, it was a really nice experience. Yesterday I also washed my clothes. This involves pouring water and detergent into a bucket and letting it sit for three hours. Then you play human agitator and mash the clothes around in the bucket. You have to rinse everything out twice, and then find places in your room to hang all of your stuff. It was definitely quite different from back home. Today I wore a sari for the first time all day. They're a little hard to get around in and I keep finding woodchips hidden in the folds. Other than that, it's just been a regular day. Tonight is Parotha night, which is exciting. Parotha is a type of bread, but it's remarkably good (maybe even better than naan). The weekend is rapidly approaching, which I'm quite looking forward to. Lots of people from the center are going home or onto other Indian locales this weekend, so it will be really quiet next week (although I suspect that we'll be getting some new people as well). Well, I should go, but I'll post some pictures of me in saris (as per requested, but probably not until Monday when I get my sari blouses from the tailor) and some of my woodcarving. And of course some from Cochi. Hope everyone is well. Thanks so much for all of your messages and comments.

Advertisement



28th July 2005

I'm so excited for you! This all sounds so amazing. I thought I was so cool going off on my roadtrip for two weeks and being all independent, but you, you're in India doing amazing things a gazillion miles away from people you're used to. I'm so proud of you and happy and a little jealous to tell you the truth. I hope I have the courage to do that sort of thing some day.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb