Catch up blog!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir » Udhampur
February 19th 2012
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Poon Hill!!!Poon Hill!!!Poon Hill!!!

Reverse Warrior in the most beautiful place in the world! I was so lucky to have clear blue skies! Some people wait a whole week to experience this view. Some people never get to see it!!! I am In heaven!
Hi everyone!

I made it back to Pokhara and spent 3 days there. What a beautiful part of the world! I could have spent a month there. The lake is on one side and the snow tipped mountains on the other! Something special. I went paragliding too! (Shhhh don't tell my parents). I am am safe and had such a great experience!!! I met a lovely Australian girl while I was trekking from Melbourne and we spent a day together in Pokhara.

We went to a Tibetan Buddist Monestry. They are preparing for their new years and they are meditating and chanting from 3am - 9pm for 2 weeks. It was such an amazing experience to hear the chanting and drumming! I felt so calm and peaceful! Heres the funny thing. After about 1 hour of this beautiful experience the monks started to bring this elaborate 3 teired chocolate cake with cream and a cherry on top to al the monks! They also brought out milk tea. It was so bazzar!!! Ashleigh and I had to laugh when they offered us a piece!!! The monks continued chanting and playing their instuments and every now and then would eat some
Local Government schoolLocal Government schoolLocal Government school

I walked into this school and the kids came running over to me from miles away!!! The teachers were so friendly and welcomed me into their staffroom! The classrooms only have blackboards, and rows of desks with chairs attached to them. The students use only text books. What an experience!
of their cake. The monks were radiating pure love from their hearts and had such kindness in their eyes!!! I will never forget this experience!!!

Had a great guide for my flight! He made a movie of it so I can bore you all with it when I return. hehehehe

Now I am in Kathmandu. What a contrast tp the peaceful Pokhara.It took 8 hours on the bus to get back as there was a massive traffic jam! Bandy and her family are taking me to a music concery tonight as it is a 3 day holiday. It is Shiva's birthday celebration!!! I'm very excited!!!

I will try now to add some photos to my blog!!!

Love to all.

Joanna 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Walking down the street in a small country town just out from PokharaWalking down the street in a small country town just out from Pokhara
Walking down the street in a small country town just out from Pokhara

There was a festival today! There were so many coloured flags blowing in the wind! I went to the local carnival and rode the ferris wheel.
Pokhara Valley in the morningPokhara Valley in the morning
Pokhara Valley in the morning

On my taxi ride to the start of my trek I asked to the driver to stop so I could admire this view! It was so beautiful! A blanket of clouds were covering the valley.
Village kids playing a skipping game before school one morningVillage kids playing a skipping game before school one morning
Village kids playing a skipping game before school one morning

The children here are so beautiful! They are very respectful of their elders and are always laughing! They enjoy the simplicity of life!
A panoramic view of the Annapurna Mountain RangeA panoramic view of the Annapurna Mountain Range
A panoramic view of the Annapurna Mountain Range

I felt as though I was on top of the world when I took this photo! It took my breath away!
Poon Hill at sunsetPoon Hill at sunset
Poon Hill at sunset

Amazing is all I can say!


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb