Line of Control


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir » Kargil Town
August 29th 2002
Published: August 29th 2002
Edit Blog Post

The two day bus from Srinigar to Leh stopped here for a night - 10pm to 5am. The bus ride is increadible. I am sitting on the back seat of the bus, but don't really mind the big bounces since the views of out the windows are so amazing. Ataf is riding next to me - an Isreali who was staying in the same boat as the English girls and we are switching so we alternate for the window seat.
I heard in Leh that Kargil was shelled a few nights after we stayed there and someone died - so this journey isn't the safest in the world. I don't think it was downtown that was shelled but the army tents, but I have no idea how close they are.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb