The week and a half of doing nothing!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
December 9th 2011
Published: December 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well as the title may suggest, we haven't done much this passed week or so. Which has been bliss!

McLeod is up in the Mountains and Jesus it was cold when we got here. As we've been used to roasting in every other place we've been it was a shock to the system. Luckily I over packed and brought thermals and longjohns! Came in handy.

The first full day we had was taken up by a long lay-in, lunch, Ciarans first massage (which was hilarious. I could hear him in the next room explaining to the man that was about to get him to get his kit off that this was in fact his first time. I was almost surprised he didn't ask him to be gentle too...)

For the next few days we ate, I sat on the roof and read, (boring I kknow) went to the cinema a few times, and ate some more. We also got HBO on our telly, which is good as it gave us something to do without spending money.

We did walk to the waterfall in the next village. I say we, Ciaran made me. So with me dragging my heels we trekked up about 2km (not very far at all). The waterfall was ok. I have seen better! The only thing that made it interesting was this woman standing in the river wailing some awful song. I think she was meditating to the mountain or something.

Another day we decided to book a horse trek. Purley as I didn't want to walk 20 km around the mountain. They we're ponies. And looked even smaller under Ciarans 6ft frame. The views were stunning. The mountains and hills looked amazing. Dotted around the forrest are Tibetan prayer flags. Some in rather high places up trees which takes some climbing.

Ciaran did hire a guide and do a day trek up to some place. So we didn't totally watse our time here. To celebrate his trek I brought myself another massage. Was goooood!

There is some really good versions of western food here which is a welcome change. Jimmy Italian is amazing. And there is a place called McLlo which does the best cheese naan I have had this trip so far!!!!!!!!!

This place is called Little Tibet (due to the high numbers of refugees here) It is nothing like India. Which again is a nice break. It will be hard going back to the rush of a big city and the constant beeeeeeping of traffic.

The one thing that has replaced traffic noise here is f*cking dogs. Barking. Barking all night. And due to the way the place is situated the noise just echos around. All night. Which i think accounts for so many of my lay-ins, lack of sleep at night!

Yesterday was our last day so we celebrated with 5 beers between us! That is the most I've drank since Goa which was aaages ago so I'm doing well cutting the booze out. About 1 last night we we're watching Shutter Island, which is spooky enough and then all the power cut and a massive thunder storm rolled in. I have never heard thunder like it, it was deafening. The rain was good. Shut the bloody dogs up!

Off we go today, back to Delhi then to Khajuraho. We arrive there on Sunday (missions to get there!)

Until then!!!xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb