Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Dharamsala
May 22nd 2006
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Here are a few photos of The Dogga classroom and some of the students who study there. This has been an interesting and challenging experience for me. I have never taught in a formal classroom setting, but I have felt almost all of my life that I wanted to be a teacher. When I was eight years old, I wanted to be married, have three childern, and be a teacher by the year 2000. Amazing how life takes its turns, but I believe one of those things was meant to be (better late than never). On the first day of classes I introduced myself, wrote my name on the board and talked about where I was from etc. I went on to give them options for how to address me. I told them they could call me Heather, or Miss Smith, or Miss Heather, or even Ms. Smith But please don't call me Mrs. Smith. (All due respect mom and grandma Smith, my teaching role models.) After all that, it turns out they call me "Teacher". I hadn't thought of that. I kind of like it. I learned for the frst time, the feeling that a teacher gets when the students have no idea what you're talking about. Their faces are furrowed, they have pens in their mouths, looking vacantly at the board. I learned of the looks on their faces when they DO get it. It's a great joy. After classes I feel energized and exhilerated. I am reallly enjoying this experience. The organization lacks in many areas, but the students are worth the inconveniences. I have no curriculum for grammar class, just a few books and my shady recollection of the rules of English grammar. (present continuous, present perfect, relative clauses, etc.) The students are eager though, and I am eager to try to find new ways of teaching with limited resources, and to help improve their spoken language as well as their written and receptive language. One of the biggest difficulties for me is customizing the class to suit the needs of the varying levels of students who show up from day to day. I can have anywhere from 25 students (on a rainy day) to 40 (standing room only). Tests are discouraged but I feel the need to be able to measure progress, for myself, and for them. It's diffulcult, never having taught before, and with little guidance here, but I think I've found the just right challenge for me. I'm not saying I'm ready for a career change ( nor am I saying that I'm not) but I feel I am in the right place at the right time. Thanks to my family of educators and academicians who've taught me that knowledge is power. Sharing some of mine in this way is an honor.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



28th May 2006

Teaching........................
Heather, who would have thought??!! I never knew you really had an interest in teaching. It is, without a doubt, one of the "noblest" professions. I see you've experienced the great feeling of having imparted some small bit of knowledge to another person, and the joy it gives you, as the teacher. The power of teaching is unbelievable. It's a high all its' own. Good luck. It sounds as if you are definitely in the "right place at the right time." with much love and great pride.............. MOM
30th May 2006

You and Kripa teach me with every entry. I hope I can pass along some of this to Wynter. I truly look forward to my next lesson from each of you. Thanks to both of you. Peace.
22nd June 2006

Knowledge IS power!
Heather and Kripa, We are inspired by your commitments to teaching and to learning. There is a Quaker slogan "let your lives speak" and you are certainly demonstrating it! Paul and I will be traveling to China in August. While ours is a cultural tour, we are looking forward to getting an experience of Asia. Love, Aunt Janet
23rd June 2006

Good for you!
Heather - what a fantastic experience. I am so glad that you are so happy where you are - it sounds like an awesome opportunity for you, and for your class members - everyone is learning something! Keep us updated - so proud of you, and hello to Kirpa. xoxo, kcd
24th June 2006

Happy Birthday ... a little belated
I haven't looked at the blog in awhile, and I just emailed you yesterday; but I just wanted to make sure you got my big, fat birthday message. Happy Birthday!!! Hope it was good. :)
19th July 2006

"Teacher"
Hi Heather and Kripa - although i am not good at keeping in touch I think of you both nearly everyday and I hold you both so close in my heart. Your journal and photos have touched me profoundly...what an amazing journey you are on. It is a struggle for me (and I am sure many others) to really and truly be present in the moment and live simply and with wonder while serving a greater purpose...I know you likely have your challenges too but your lives and actions are inspiring and truly fill me with awe. You are both "teachers" in many senses of the word...and I wanted you to know the positive impact your story has had on my own soul. Much love to you both (and miss you lots), Heather (heatheratk@yahoo)
29th July 2006

Knowledge is Power
Heather and Kripa, I just sat down to update myself on your blog. What amazing experiences you are having and what amazing pictures. I have enjoyed following your adventures. Keep up the great work! Miss You Both!

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb