A Hong Kong holiday


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
April 13th 2011
Published: April 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I wish I had time to write a blog while I was actually in Hong Kong- but the fact is- I was just so busy that I just did not have the time. So I will rely on my recent memory to illustrate my blog.

It started with a simple bus trip across the boarder from the mainland. As soon as we had hit the road my senses became excited about exploring a familar yet challenging and different environment. I arrived in Koowloon and more or less went straight to my accomodation in Causeway Bay. It was nice! THe Hong Kong Hostel is a far better option for single travellers if they want to escape the dangerous labarinth of dodgy guesthouses in Chungking and Mirador Mansions in Koowloon. This hostel was located in a plesant neighbourhood- where shopping and hip young Hong Kongers dominated the streets- but it became quiet enough at night so you could sleep well.

Sam- the guy at the reception, is realy nice- even remembered my name, even though the hostel was crazy busy- booked out I think. I decided to spend the afternoon in Central- wandering around Hong Kong park- and going to a Tea Museum! This place was really cool- they displayed many tea sets from as early as the Tang dynasty, and showed the different types of tea in China that exist. Also, on the first floor gallery they displayed a really interesting collection of original teapots designed by HK locals, that was part of some competition.

I still had loads of time to burn before the symphony of lights that night, so I thought I'd take the free look up on the 43rd floor of the Bank of China tower. This was pretty cool too- not much had changed since last time I went except that some stupid American dude was yelling at the poor ladies at reception for some reason. That was not cool.

Anyway, I wandered across to Kowloon in search of a place to eat before the show. I chose pizza hut. yeah I know- I'm so adventurous. But seriously it was really nice- and I tried a strawberry lime soda which was delicious!

I then headed to the avenue of stars for a good view. I found a good seat, and ended up chatting to a friendly Scottish guy who has been traveling to India and Nepal.

The Scottish guy was also planning on heading to the big buddha on the next day so we arranged to meet at the star ferry pier early the next day. I slowly wandered home back to the hostel and collapsed on my bed for a semi decent sleep.

8am the nexy day, I met with Bruce and we were on our way to Lantau Island. The scenery going to the Big Buddha is really breathtaking- its hard to imagine that just 30mins outside of the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong you can take in some fresh air and beautiful scenery. We then enjoyed a tasty vegie lunch and a wander around the monestary and the local Ngong Ping village.

Around midday we traveled to the 1000 Buddha monestary- which is basically a very very steep climb to the top of a mountain where there is a monestary and 1000 Buddha statues! When we finally reached the top, exhausted and hot- I found a beautiful spot to take in the view of Hong Kong. The breeze and the humbling scenery was enough for me to regain my engergy for the walk down again.
view of Hong Kongview of Hong Kongview of Hong Kong

from the Bank of China tower

It was then time to rejoin the busling Hong Kong crowds in Mong Kok ladies market- where I got a good deal on some pretty sweet sunglasses. I managed to find Nathan road again- and we successsfuly walked in the complete opposite direction of where we wanted to head next- Tsim Sha Sui. So we ended up having another rest and then catching the metro. By this stage, I was really craving a beer. We got off at Wan Chai and chilled at Carnegies with a pint. Bruce seems to have a great taste in music and I enjoyed listening to his music there.

At this stage, we were both wreaked; so it was time to head home. So much had happened by this stage, and I couldn't believe that my holiday was almost over. I decided to take a slight detour when I arrived in Causeway Bay and take in some more scenery of the harbour at night. I really needed that time to soak in everything that had happened- the people I'd met, the things I'd experienced and what was yet to come. I wanted desperately to spend more time there- to enjoy more of what this beautiful city has to offer- to get lost in its narrow streets with neon lights and dim sums and mountains. But sadly my short holiday here was almost over.

The next morning I took a ridiciously long and steep walk up to where Mum used to live in Cloudview road. I was completely exhasted once I got there- but when I reached the place I really had to smile to myself about how humbling this place is. Right there; is where my mum spent time growing up and playing with other kids in the neighbourhood.

with a renewed soul, muscles worked out and happy memories I boarded the sleepy bus back to Shenzhen.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb