China Trip: Day 13 - Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
October 19th 2007
Published: November 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was "a free day to explore on our own". I had seen a show on the Travel Channel about Hong Kong a few months before, and it had mentioned a giant Buddha on nearby Lantau Island. So, I decided I would check it out. The previous day, our local tour guide gave me instructions on how to get there. I took the subway out there, where I then boarded a bus to the Giant Buddha. The bus was a little cramped, and the roads were hilly and curvy, not the most comfortable bus ride in the world. The scenery was nice, though.

I checked out the Giant Buddha, known as the Tian Tan Buddha, completed in 1993 and is "the world's tallest outdoor seated bronze Buddha". It's 34 meters tall, and sits on top of a hill, with a staircase consisting of 268 steps leading up to it. I checked it out, and also strolled along the "Wisdom Path", which offered a great view of nearby Lantau Peak (elevation 934 m/about 3,000 ft). There was a walking path up to the top of Lantau. I was interested in going up there, but felt I didn't have the time, and I didn't have anybody with me to make the journey more fun.

I decided to take the ferry back to the city. I ran into two ladies from my tour group who were waiting in line for a bus to the Ferry, and I decided to join them. The ferry ride was great, with scenic views. The weather was perfect, albeit a little hazy. It was a lot of fun.

The next day was the sad day that I had to say goodbye to Hong Kong and my China trip and fly back to the U.S.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Other statues near the BuddhaOther statues near the Buddha
Other statues near the Buddha

Making an offering to the Buddha?
Other statues near the BuddhaOther statues near the Buddha
Other statues near the Buddha

Praise and offering to the Buddha?
The Wisdom Path and Mt. LantauThe Wisdom Path and Mt. Lantau
The Wisdom Path and Mt. Lantau

It was a wise decision to walk along the Wisdom Path. The scenery was great and it was peaceful.


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb