What a Month


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
May 23rd 2013
Published: May 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Not much new really in Hong Kong but so much has been going on around the world!!! I still can't wrap my head around the bombing which happened in my beloved city, Boston... Start to move on from that and my dear friend Heather loses her husband to a tragic motorcycle accident. Her husband Tony was dead on impact , by the grace of God , her son Tony who was on the motorcycle too was thrown on to the grass and was fine- just some bumps and bruises. My friend Heather is one of the sweetest, giving, faithful and loving person I know- my heart aches for her and her family. Then the poor people in Okalahoma living thru the whole town being devastated by the Tornado. Probably the saddest news this week was 2 days ago my friend Marc who was such a pillar of strength to me and helped me when I was reeling from the loss of my brother , lost his valiant battle with brain cancer. The world lost another brave and wonderful soul to this dreadful disease. It hurts so bad being so far away too and not being home or able to attend his funeral services.



So not to be Debbie Downer or depress everyone so funny and happy events have occurred too. My friend Mike and his wife Carol had a beautiful baby girl a few days ago. My old ( as in past tense) not age boss, Jill is due to have her second child any day now- can't wait for her baby boy to arrive and hear all about it. My friend Cora at work in HK is starting to get bigger in her pregnancy and can't wait to spoil her new little one too.

on the funny side, it is rainy season in HK. For thunder and rain storms they code them by colors so Wednesday it was Black Rain alert which means- you are not allowed to go outside until it downgrades to Amber. High Winds, lightening, thunder and heavy rain with flooding- so that was a fun experience.

The other fun thing was watching my face trying to figure out what the heck the special menu selections on the McDonald's in Hong Kong- will have to take a picture to share with everyone.



Will post pics from my " big party" tomorrow night at the apartment- having a going away party for my co- worker Adeline.

Peace

Sue

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb