Hong Kong - You leave me breathless - Part 1


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » The Peak
November 26th 2013
Published: December 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Cable car to Lantau Island Cable car to Lantau Island Cable car to Lantau Island

The cable car to Big Buddha has great views. Get there before 10am or you will wait over an hour for a ticket :)
I heard the song "You leave me breathless" by Shayne Ward today and it made me think about my time in Hong Kong. Hong Kong is a great city with amazing views, shopping, food and entertainment but travel is also about the people you meet and the friends you make along the way. This is my retirement holiday and so far it could not get any better.

Someone told me I would run out of things to do if I stay in Hong Kong for two weeks. I was never bored and there is much more to Hong Kong than the amazing skyline and views. Travel to the other parts of Hong Kong away from Central and take a ferry to the islands and you would find a few days in Hong Kong is not enough to experience what Hong Kong has to offer. Hong Kong can be expensive but if you look for a local market you will find food, fruit and laundry that is very inexpensive. I enjoyed my time in Hong Kong very much and would be happy to return and explore more of the Islands, countryside and go to the mainland. The photos best describe what
Lantau Island Lantau Island Lantau Island

The 34 metre high Big Buddha. I caught the MRT train to the ticket office on Lantau Island. There is also a huge shopping mall near the ticket office.
I did and saw in Hong Kong.

A night at Happy Valley Racecourse and more in Part 2.

There are 47 photos. Click on each photo to get a larger view.


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Lantau Island Lantau Island
Lantau Island

Lots of shops and even a Subway and Starbucks coffee
Lantau Island Cable CarLantau Island Cable Car
Lantau Island Cable Car

I took the standard car on the way up for a shorter waiting time to leave and the glass bottomed option on the way back for an amazing view.
Mini Hotel CentralMini Hotel Central
Mini Hotel Central

Only room I could find in Central under $AU100. Will find a larger room next time but I give the staff 10 out of 10 because they were mostly friendly and helpful.
Mini Hotel CentralMini Hotel Central
Mini Hotel Central

How about a blind between the bathroom and the bedroom lol. Smallest room I have ever stayed in and very thin walls. I know what you two were doing next door all last night hehe
View from my hotel roomView from my hotel room
View from my hotel room

Nice view at least from my bathroom. I hope no one could see me taking a shower. Now thats a scary thought :)
Star Ferry to Tsim Sha Tsui Star Ferry to Tsim Sha Tsui
Star Ferry to Tsim Sha Tsui

A highlight of any visit to HK is a trip on the Star ferry to Tsim Sha Tsui for entertainment, shopping and food
Tsim Sha Tsui side of Hong KongTsim Sha Tsui side of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui side of Hong Kong

Nice walk at night time.
Tsim Sha Tsui Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui

Avenue of Stars - busy at night. Everyone goes for photo taking and the "Symphony of Lights" which is a laser light show linked to music from the skyscrapers.
Mid Levels escalatorMid Levels escalator
Mid Levels escalator

The largest undercover escalator in the world. It travels past many restaurants and shops. Get off for food and drink and walk back down.
From the Mid Levels escalatorFrom the Mid Levels escalator
From the Mid Levels escalator

Thats how they dry their laundry :)
The Peak TramThe Peak Tram
The Peak Tram

Get there early or you will wait more than an hour for the tram up to the Peak viewpoints.
View from the PeakView from the Peak
View from the Peak

I went three times so it must be good.
At the PeakAt the Peak
At the Peak

The usual shopping and restaurants
The PeakThe Peak
The Peak

The views brought out the kid in me
The Peak Skyline viewpointThe Peak Skyline viewpoint
The Peak Skyline viewpoint

Go to the top for the best views.
At the PeakAt the Peak
At the Peak

The view to the other side.


12th December 2013

Wow
Wow Hong Kong is beautiful looks like the weather was very kind to you. I love the night photos they look quite spectacular. Looks like a lovely clean city. Good to see you having so much fun.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb